One of the most grown-up review sites around

51,000 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

  Founder: Len Mullenger             Editor in Chief: John Quinn               Contact Seen and Heard here  

Some items
to consider


colourful imaginative harmony
Renate Eggebrecht violin

Leticia Gómez-Tagle
Chopin, Liszt, Scarlatti

Bax Piano Music

Guillaume LEKEU


Superior performance

Shostakovich 6&7 Nelsons

Verdi Requiem Thielemann

Marianna Henriksson
An outstanding recital

Arnold Bax
Be converted

this terrific disc

John Buckley
one of my major discoveries

François-Xavier Roth
A game-changing Mahler 3


Bryden Thomson


Vaughan Williams Concertos

RVW Orchestral


REVIEW Plain text for smartphones & printers

Support us financially by purchasing this from

Josef Antonín GURETZKY (1709-1769)
Cello Concerto in A minor, D-WD 573 (1738) [11:41]
Cello Concerto in G major, D-WD 574 (1735) [15:31]
Violin Concerto in D major (c.1740) [16:53]
Bohuslav Matěj ČERNOHORSKÝ (1684-1742)
Fugue (after 1730) [2:38]
Josef Antonín GURETZKY
Cello Concerto in F major, D-WD 577 (1735) [13:59]
Cello Concerto in D major, D-WD 575 (1735) [12:02]
Kinga Gáborjána (cello)
Rodolfo Richter (violin)
The Harmonious Society of Tickle-Fiddle Gentlemen
rec. July/August 2012, Victorian Theatre, Salomons Estate, Kent (UK).
CHANDOS CHAN0816 [73:24]

Josef Guretzky was a native of Moravia, now part of today's Czech Republic. Robert Rawson's booklet notes for this release outline Guretzky's courtly employment history, absorbing the Italian influence while with the court of Schrattenbach and his subsequent move to Bavaria and the court of the cello-mad Rudolf Franz Erwein. In 1740 he ended up in Dresden where his only Violin Concerto was composed, a virtuoso work most likely written for Johann Georg Pisendel, leader of the Dresden court orchestra. Apparently unable to secure a post in the town, Guretzky returned to his homeland, becoming Kapellmeister for the region's Bishop and composing church music as well as a now lost opera.

Only nine cello concertos by Guretzky have survived, and two of these are incomplete. While adhering to ritornello form these works also have an individual approach to the give-and-take relationship between soloist and ensemble which gives them a finely-wrought sense of integration and a chamber-music feel which makes them feel both antique and filled with sprightly dynamism. Rawson points towards characteristic rhythmic features which contribute to the sense of energy which permeates these pieces, with plenty of activity even in the slower central movements. Vivaldi can be heard amongst the Italianate influences, and the decorative nature of both the solo and ensemble writing gives each work a strong sense of intricacy and detail while at the same time being very easy on the ear indeed.

An interesting extra is the Fugue attributed to Bohuslav Matěj Černohorsky, who was a teacher of Tartini. This adds a nice bit of solo contrast in the midst of the programme but is also related to Guretzky's concertos in its use of similar rhythmic devices.

Magnificently named, The Harmonious Society of Tickle-Fiddle Gentlemen play these works with a single player per part with a harpsichord continuo, the selection of instruments including a double bass and following documented practice for the period. The resulting sound is both crisp and attractively full, and with a plethora of premičres on this disc there can be no complaints in terms of freshness. If you are looking to expand your experience of 18th century music from an unexplored mid-European source then this is a highly enjoyable place to find such delights.

Dominy Clements



We are currently offering in excess of 51,000 reviews

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger