One of the most grown-up review sites around
One of the most grown-up review sites around

Search MusicWeb Here


International mailing

Up to 40% off

  Founder: Len Mullenger


Some items
to consider


colourful imaginative harmony
Renate Eggebrecht violin

Leticia Gómez-Tagle
Chopin, Liszt, Scarlatti

Bax Piano Music

Guillaume LEKEU


Superior performance

Shostakovich 6&7 Nelsons

Verdi Requiem Thielemann

Marianna Henriksson
An outstanding recital

Arnold Bax
Be converted

this terrific disc

John Buckley
one of my major discoveries

François-Xavier Roth
A game-changing Mahler 3


Bryden Thomson


Vaughan Williams Concertos

RVW Orchestral



The American String Project 2006
Ludwig van BEETHOVEN
String Quartet in C minor Op. 18 No. 4 (1798-1800) (arr. Barry Lieberman) [25:34]
Dmitri SHOSTAKOVICH (1906-1975) String Quartet No. 12 Op. 123 (1968) (arr. Barry Lieberman) [27:19]
Pablo SARASATE (1844-1908) (arr. Stephanie Chase) Caprice Basque Op. 24 (1881) [6:02] Romanza Andaluza Op. 22 No. 1 [4:52] Zigeunerweisen Op. 20 (1878) [9:20]
The American String Project (Eriko Sato (leader – Beethoven), Maria Larinoff (leader – Shostakovich), Stephanie Chase (leader – Sarasate))
rec. live, 8 June 2006, Illsley Ball Nordstrom Recital Hall, Benaroya Hall, Seattle, Washington
MSR CLASSICS MS 1226 [73:08]

The American String Project is a group of fifteen string players who play without conductor. The leaflet states that the "Project" is "an annual phenomenon where diverse performers and modes and visions mingle to create something that did not exist before" and that "the intimacy of the chamber music articulation , with its interplay of tone and color, is enriched and deepened, taking on the tonalities of a string symphony – but always with the proportion and exchange that characterizes the great chamber works".

I have quoted this at length as it is certainly not the impression given by the Beethoven Quartet which opens the disc. There is nothing new in small or even large orchestras playing Beethoven’s Quartets, and recordings by Toscanini and others have shown that they can reveal new aspects of the music. Unfortunately that is not the case here. The main effect of doubling or trebling the various lines is to muddy the texture and make Beethoven’s careful sharing of the material between the players sound clumsy. The sound of the doubled (trebled?) first violin is particularly unpleasant sounding frequently out of tune and harsh. This is a great pity as the shape of the underlying performance insofar as it can be discerned is serious and idiomatic.

Things improve for the other items. Other Shostakovich Quartets have been turned into String Symphonies and there is no reason why the same cannot be done here. There are indeed some gains from the extra strings, although I am not convinced that even then they outweigh the loss of intimacy and greater transparency in the original. The lengthy second movement should gain in intensity with each repeat of the various ostinato figures which form its basic material but somehow it fails to do so here. The tension dissipates on occasion and has to be regained afresh. I would certainly not regard this as a complete failure as a performance – the fundamental character of the Quartet is conveyed - but overall it does not begin to compare with the best performances with one player to a part.

The most successful and enjoyable performances by a long way are the three short pieces by Sarasate. Essentially all are string solos with accompaniment, and they work well when transcribed entirely for strings. The applause after the final item is well deserved - and curiously is the only applause on a disc said to be of a live concert - but perhaps these pieces are too late to save a disc whose ambitious aims are not achieved in practice.

John Sheppard


We are currently offering in excess of 51,000 reviews

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger


Return to Review Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.