One of the most grown-up review sites around
One of the most grown-up review sites around

Search MusicWeb Here


International mailing

Up to 40% off

  Founder: Len Mullenger


Some items
to consider


colourful imaginative harmony
Renate Eggebrecht violin

Leticia Gómez-Tagle
Chopin, Liszt, Scarlatti

Bax Piano Music

Guillaume LEKEU


Superior performance

Shostakovich 6&7 Nelsons

Verdi Requiem Thielemann

Marianna Henriksson
An outstanding recital

Arnold Bax
Be converted

this terrific disc

John Buckley
one of my major discoveries

François-Xavier Roth
A game-changing Mahler 3


Bryden Thomson


Vaughan Williams Concertos

RVW Orchestral


alternatively AmazonUK   AmazonUS



Koussevitzky and the Boston Symphony Orchestra – Live Recordings 1943-48. Volume 1
Richard STRAUSS (1864-1949)
Don Juan Op 20 (1888) [18:03]
Bela BARTÓK (1881-1945)
Concerto for Orchestra [with original ending] (1944) [35:29]
Igor STRAVINSKY (1882-1971)

Ode – Elegiac Chant (1943) [11:26]
Carl Maria von WEBER (1786-1826)
Oberon- Overture (1826) [9:14]
Boston Symphony Orchestra/Serge Koussevitzky
rec. Boston 30 December 1944 (Bartók): 8 October 1943 (Stravinsky): 4 March 1947 (Weber)

This is a valuable disc of live Koussevitzky-Boston material with which collectors may already be familiar. The Concerto for Orchestra has been issued by the Boston Symphony in its Centennial Celebration edition and it’s also been on Naxos. The world premiere took place with these forces on 1 December 1944 and this preserved performance was given just under a month later. It remains one of Koussevitzky’s most outstanding commissions and the performance enshrines at least something of the frisson that must have been generated at that premiere.

The performance is, it’s true, subject to aural limitations. The sound is constricted and in this of all scores that’s a decided problem. Nevertheless textually it’s valuable for allowing us to hear a performance that contains Bartók’s original, very abrupt ending. As a performance it has sweep and power – especially in the finale – but also, and this is rather surprising, there are paragraphs that seem to fall somewhat flat, as if they had not yet been properly assimilated.

Don Juan isn’t, judged by the stopwatch, that much quicker than many other performances. But it’s the internal rhythms and attacks that distinguish this galvanizing and energetic performance. And it certainly starts as it means to go on, with memorable dynamism and power. The silken solo violin – it has to be Richard Burgin, surely – is another adornment as are the wind principals. One of the great virtues of a performance such as this – it sounds banal but it remains true – is that wind principals have the freedom and flexibility to phrase within a brisk basic pulse without any sense of disjunction or a feeling of impeded direction. It all sounds wonderfully natural.

The Stravinsky Ode is a world premiere performance given on 8 October 1943. It was dedicated to Natalie Koussevitzky who had died the previous year and in whose memory the conductor established a Foundation. Orthodox Church depth and gravity is balanced by the affirmative optimism of the central Eclogue. Audience applause is rightly retained. We end with an overture. Not the usual piece of programming but when the Weber is played as excitingly as this convention tends to be of little significance. There’s a touch of "rumble" here on this 1947 tape but it’s otherwise very listenable.

Both notes and programming are first class; transfers too, inherent defects being as noted. This is the first volume in what promises to be a very collectable series from Guild.

Jonathan Woolf



We are currently offering in excess of 51,000 reviews

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger


Return to Review Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.