52,943 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

  Founder: Len Mullenger             Editor in Chief: John Quinn               Contact Seen and Heard here  



Buy through MusicWeb for £14.00/15.50 postage paid World-wide.
You may prefer to pay by Sterling cheque or Euro notes to avoid PayPal. Contactfor details

MusicWeb Purchase button

John TAVERNER (c. 1490-1545)
Kyrie (Le Roy) [
Western Wind Mass [25:08]
William CORNYSH (d. 1523)
Woefully Arrayed [7:22]
ANONYMOUS (c. 1510)
Ah, My Dear Son [5:43]
SHERYNGHAM (c. 1500)
Ah, gentle Jesu [6:02]
John BROWNE (fl. c. 1480-1505)
Jesu, mercy [9:21]
Christopher TYE (c. 1505-1573)
In Pace
Ars Nova Copenhagen/Paul Hillier       
rec. 19-24 July 2004, St. Paul’s Church, Copenhagen.
DA CAPO 8.226050 [65:32]

Although John Taverner stands as one of
England’s greatest musical minds, there is very little known about his life. It is known that he grew up in Lincolnshire, and that he very likely worked in London. He was the first choirmaster of Cardinal College, Oxford, and, after his patron Cardinal Wolsey’s fall from the grace of Henry VIII in 1530, settled in Boston (England, not Massachusetts) where he lived until his death.

His Western Wind Mass is one of three extant settings using this somewhat bawdy secular tune as its cantus firmus. The others are by John Sheppard and Christopher Tye. The Taverner mass contains the tune some thirty-six times. The result is an amazing example of early renaissance polyphony, a work of transparent and radiant beauty.

Ars Nova Copenhagen under Paul Hillier’s able baton presents a disc of nearly flawless singing. It is quite easy to lapse into the mode of “mono-pretty” when presenting this music. That is, the tendency to sing with an incessantly mellifluous tone, perfect in rhythm and intonation but utterly lacking in interest. It is a flaw that appears regularly in discs by the Tallis Scholars. The saints be praised, Mr. Hillier never allows this to happen, and we have a performance that is every bit as emotionally engaging as it is ethereally beautiful.

The choir from Copenhagen, from the looks of their photograph is made up of relatively young singers, and the agility and purity of their singing belies this. Yet, it has been some time indeed since I have heard a choir sing with such intellectual and musical maturity as this one. Would God the Americans could have the kind of vocal tradition (and popular support thereof) that is found in blessed Scandinavia.

Hillier has chosen to present the mass as it might have appeared in an actual liturgy, with motets from Taverner’s contemporaries interspersed between the movements. This makes for a nice flow to the mass setting, never intended to be performed without pause for the appropriate liturgical actions.

To sum it up, this is flawless singing from every point of view. There is a second disc of Taverner’s music available from the same forces, and if this one is any indication, a purchase of both is a must. 

Kevin Sutton


AmazonUK   ArkivMusik





Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger

Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.