One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,928 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             


Buy through MusicWeb for £5.75/7.00 postage paid World-wide.
You may prefer to pay by Sterling cheque or Euro notes to avoid PayPal. Contactfor details

Purchase button

ArchivMusik (USA sales only)


Humiwo HAYASAKA (1914-1955)
Piano Concerto (1948) [32:41]
Ancient Dances on the Left and on the Right (1941) [10:39]
Overture in D major (1939) [9:32]
Hiromi Okada (piano)
Russian Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra/Dmitry Yablonsky
rec. Studio 5, State Broadcasting, Moscow, Russia, 29 April 2005-5 May 2005



Hayasaka’s claim to fame rests currently on his 1950s film scores for Kurosawa’s Rashomon and The Seven Samurai. In fact he wrote about a hundred scores for the cinema. There are chamber and concert works too including the fifty minute symphonic suite Yukara written four months before his death as well as Movement in Metamorphosis for orchestra (1953), String Quartet (1950) and Seventeen Pieces for piano (1941). 

He was born in Sendai, North Japan and after falling on hard times moved to Sapporo. Orphaned, he had to go out to work. In his own time he studied music and developed a proselytising performing interest in twentieth century music.

His two movement Piano Concerto (I 22:22; II 10:19) was premiered in Tokyo on 25 June 1948. The long first movement is broodingly contemplative and poignantly melodic. There are echoes of Rota and Rachmaninov. The writing displays a sumptuous romantic tendency with a sense of gentle cinematic longing winding though its pages. This rises at the end to a briefly pummelling intensity and fades back into nostalgic quietude. The shorter second (and last) movement is light-hearted recalling elements of Milhaud and Gershwin with an occasional romantic aside. It’s all very attractive. 

In the Concerto there are only wispy hints of what we may recognise as typical traditional Japanese music; not so with the Ancient Dances on the Left and on the Right. The title and the writing have their origins in courtly Gagaku a subset of which is Bugaku – orchestral music accompanying dance. The Ancient Dances make prominent use of percussion including gong and bass drum. The cast of the writing assigned to the woodwind is also instantly recognisable to Western ears as oriental. This is music that conveys mystery and ceremony.

The Overture is a symphonic march with nationalistic elements as in the Ancient Dances but with a more outgoing and even jaunty character. Do not be surprised if you catch yourself thinking of RVW’s March of the Kitchen Utensils from the music for Aristophanes’ Wasps. The march theme is repeated Bolero-like each time dressed in new orchestration.

Hayasaka was friendly with another Japanese composer, Akira Ifukube (1914-2006) whose music can be heard on Naxos 8.555071 and 8.557587. A predilection for corny marches demonstrated by Ifukube’s 250 plus film scores – and especially Godzilla (1954) – can also be heard in Hayasaka’s Overture in D.

This is a well documented disc that is too easily lost in the torrent of new releases. That would be a pity as the music is attractive in a rather conservative way – especially the Piano Concerto.

Rob Barnett


AmazonUK   ArchivMusik (USA sales only)



Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical
All Naxos reviews

Chandos recordings
All Chandos reviews

Hyperion recordings
All Hyperion reviews

Foghorn recordings
All Foghorn reviews

Troubadisc recordings
All Troubadisc reviews

Divine Art recordings
Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10
All Divine Art reviews

Eloquence recordings
All Eloquence reviews

Lyrita recordings
All Lyrita Reviews


Wyastone New Releases
Obtain 10% discount

Recordings of the Month

(short month)

Orphic Moments

Metamorphoses Books I & II


Donizetti - Le Convenienze ed Inconvenienze Teatrali

Chamber Symphonies 2 & 4

French Cello Concertos





Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.