One of the most grown-up review sites around
One of the most grown-up review sites around

Search MusicWeb Here


International mailing

Up to 40% off

  Founder: Len Mullenger



AmazonUK   AmazonUS

Roger SESSIONS (1896-1985)
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra (1955-56) [18.29]
Francis THORNE (b. 1922)
Piano Concerto No.3 (1989) [25.45]
Robert Taub (piano) – Sessions
Ursula Oppens (piano) – Thorne
Westchester Philharmonic/Paul Lustig Dunkel
rec. Studio A, Performing Arts Centre, Purchase College, January 1993 (Thorne), January 1994 (Sessions)
NEW WORLD RECORDS 80443-2 [44.19]



Francis Thorne’s 1989 Concerto makes a real impression in this expert performance. Opening with a flourish – a real spiritoso drive – it draws on trumpet drama and efflorescence; bold, confident and brassy. There are hints of jazz in the writing, for soloist in particular, where Thorne alludes to Harlem Stride; at least that’s what it sounds like to me – a touch of Willie “The Lion” Smith expertly woven into the tapestry. There’s plenty of syncopation and counterpoint and listen from 4.00 onwards to a ravishingly beautiful theme and then again between 8.40 and 8.50 for some off-beat jazz percussion that sees us through to the climax of this invigorating and energising first movement.

String choirs lead in the central movement, a reflective solo giving gravitas and thoughtfulness to the music-making. The finale is a propulsive toccata and the toughest of the three movements but one that dips into Thorne’s arsenal of delicious tunefulness as well – try the string cantilena from 3.10 on. His Third Concerto is a real find; try to get to hear it in this performance with Oppens a dynamic propagandist.

Sessions’s Concerto is now a half-century-old and its power and command have not faded. The delicacy of its opening is deceptive as it grows in force and builds through blocks of release, reprieve and renewed drive. The apex of the opening movement is however one of perfectly timed tranquillity and the kind of refracted Bachian procedures of the central movement – an Adagio of great concentration – are not untouched by the severe patina of the orchestration. The finale, as per Thorne’s much later work, offers a kind of syncopated toccata, one replete with a degree of pugnacious brass brutality alternating with solo piano writing of elliptical independence. Needless to say Robert Taub performs with considerable command of the unsettled idiom here, as elsewhere, and Paul Lustig Dunkel leads The Westchester Philharmonic - a name which sounds like one of those pseudonymous orchestras from 1950s LPs - with considerable distinction.

Jonathan Woolf


AmazonUK   AmazonUS


We are currently offering in excess of 52,000 reviews

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger

Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.