One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,928 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             




Joaquin NIN-CULMELL (1908-2004)
Cello Concerto, after P. Anselm Viola [21.17]
Suite for solo cello
Joaquin NIN (1879-1949)
Suite Espagnole (1930) [8.48]
Chants d’Espagne (1927) [8.41]
Cuatro Comentarios (1930) [10.44]
Svetlana Tovstukha (cello)
Kazan Philharmonic Orchestra/Melani Mestre (piano and conductor)
rec. Philharmonic Hall, Kazan, March 2001 (Concerto), Studio Albert Moraleda, June 2001 (remainder)
COLUMNA MUSICA 1CM0092 [49.28]



Promising on paper this programme is, to be blunt, somewhat disappointing. Bracketing together Nin and his son Joaquin Nin-Culmell is an unusual tactic – most people probably don’t know that the younger Nin was a composer. The fact that there is little or no consonance between the works of father and son shouldn’t be unexpected or problematic. The fact of the matter however is that Nin-Culmell’s two cello works are not quite what they seem. The Concerto is “after” the bassoon concerto of the eighteenth century composer and monk P Anselm Viola, who lived in the monastery at Montserrat. The adaptation of the bassoon line for cello has been adeptly done but whilst the music is suitably charming and has a winning elegance it’s really not especially distinctive and the soloist comes under intonational strain more often than is strictly comfortable; this is a live concerto performance.

The solo sonata is a cryptic, rather repetitious one, broken down into seven short baroque-sounding movements. There are too many generic tremolandi and by rote pizzicati passages and a rather unconvincing schema all round. That said, he is clearly drawing on a modernist vocabulary, and one that flirts with atonality. Some sections have the requisite Iberian dance drive but the impression left is one of diffusion.

Nin the Father is represented by his zestful cello and piano pieces. These have passed down from the ground staked out by Albéniz and Granados and are vibrant examples of the genre. The third set for cello and piano, Cuatro Comentarios, is rather different springing as it does from baroque source material as well as the Iberian. The Suite espagnole of 1930 is indestructible but it could go with rather more colour and vivacity than it receives here. Andaluza sounds rather pallid – a similar criticism could be levelled at the pedestrian moments in the slightly earlier cycle Chants d’Espagne. When Svetlana Tovstukha plays a warm legato line things are well but her trill is slow and her rhythm lacks incision. Melani Mestre takes on the dual responsibilities of conductor and piano accompanist very reasonably indeed.

Sound quality is not a problem and the live concerto performance doesn’t suffer in that respect. The notes are not especially helpful and lack specifics. Rather a hit and miss affair all round.

Jonathan Woolf 






Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical
All Naxos reviews

Chandos recordings
All Chandos reviews

Hyperion recordings
All Hyperion reviews

Foghorn recordings
All Foghorn reviews

Troubadisc recordings
All Troubadisc reviews

all Bridge reviews

all cpo reviews

Divine Art recordings
Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10
All Divine Art reviews

Eloquence recordings
All Eloquence reviews

Lyrita recordings
All Lyrita Reviews


Wyastone New Releases
Obtain 10% discount

Recordings of the Month

July 2022

John Luther Adams Houses of the Wind
John Luther Adams
Houses of the Wind

Horneman Alladin
Horneman Alladin

Stojowski piano concertos
Piano Concertos 1 & 2

Vaughan Williams on Brass

Yi Lin Jiang - Dualis I

June 2022

Beethoven Sonatas 29, 32

Orchestral Works

String Quartets Vol 1



Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.