One of the most grown-up review sites around
One of the most grown-up review sites around

Search MusicWeb Here


International mailing

Up to 40% off

  Founder: Len Mullenger



AmazonUK   AmazonUS


Peter MAXWELL DAVIES (b. 1934)
Naxos Quartet No.5 (2004) [20:32]
Naxos Quartet No.6 (2004/5) [35:07]
Maggini Quartet
rec. Potton Hall, Suffolk, England, May 2005
NAXOS 8.557398  [55:39]


Davies has composed eight quartets in this cycle so far, and six of them have now been committed to disc. No doubt about it, this is an ambitious project that can only be compared to the earlier Strathclyde Concertos. It also says much for Davies’ grasp of long-term planning, much more so in this case than in the Strathclyde Concertos that were conceived as independent works. Indeed, in his notes for the first instalment, Davies described the Naxos Quartets as a novel in ten chapters, which implies that each quartet is connected to the other ones in one way or another. A full appreciation of the cycle as a whole will only be possible when the cycle is completed. A truism, maybe, but all that can be done for the time being is to examine each work on its own, independently of the other. I do not doubt that some fearless analyst will go into details concerning the structure of the entire cycle and the various links, thematic and other, between its components.

The Naxos Quartet No.5 “Lighthouses of Orkney and Shetland” is probably the shorter of the first six and – as far as I am concerned – the most readily accessible so far. The subtitle, does not imply any programmatic or descriptive intent. It suggests that the music is constantly changing in the course of the work while remaining basically the same, albeit viewed from ever-changing perspectives. It also hints at the play of light and darkness that characterises much of the music.

The Naxos Quartet No.6 is rather more complex and ambitious than its predecessor. It is in six highly contrasted movements, of which the fourth (Andante molto) is by far the most developed. This long movement is the real emotional core of the work. The other movements are all much shorter, and quite neatly characterised. The tonally ambiguous opening movement is followed by two short quick movements, actually two Scherzos, leading into the very heart of the piece (the beautiful Andante molto). This is in turn followed by a short, simple carol. The Sixth Quartet is nicely rounded-off by a lively Allegro bringing the whole piece to its assertive conclusion. Although the music does not pose any real problem, the main difficulty here is to understand how the various movements relate to each other – or not. Anyway, this quartet is an impressive piece, often of great beauty.

The Maggini play wonderfully throughout, and obviously have the full measure of the music. They clearly believe in it and play with communicative enthusiasm. They have already put us much in their debt for their earlier recordings of Britten, Bridge, Bax, Moeran and Vaughan Williams. I do not doubt that this impressive cycle will be one of their greatest achievements.

Hubert Culot

see also Review by Colin Clarke


AmazonUK   AmazonUS



We are currently offering in excess of 51,000 reviews

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger

Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.