One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,928 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             


Buy through MusicWeb for £10.00 postage paid World-wide. Immediate delivery
You may prefer to pay by Sterling cheque to avoid PayPal. Contactfor details

Purchase button

Maurice RAVEL (1875-1937)
Miroirs (1904-1905) [27'48]; Gaspard de la nuit (1908) [20'25]; Le tombeau de Couperin (1914-1917) [25'56]
David Korevaar (piano)
rec. Recital Hall, Purchase College of Music, New York, July 2000. DDD
MSR CLASSICS MS1125 [72'04]

I have only once come across David Korevaar's playing, on a disc of Brahms Variations also for this company (Brahms Opp. 9, 21 Nos. 1 and 2, D minor Variations from the Sextet and Op. 24; Ivory Classics 74004), which seemed rather mixed in its merits. This Ravel disc finds Korevaar on ground on which he obviously feels more at home.

Miroirs is given a thoughtful and sensitive reading. The bleak world of 'Oiseaux tristes' is particularly well captured - almost tending towards Messiaen around 4'20, before veering to Spain. The extrovert - and famous because of its orchestral guise - 'Alborada del grazioso' is clearly enjoyed by the pianist here. 'Alborada' was written for the music critic M. D. Calvocoressi. Korevaar, in his own booklet notes, writes, 'The idea of a music critic as 'court jester' to a musician-heavy circle of artists is certainly delicious!'. Hmmmm.

Interesting that Gaspard is placed in the middle of the recital, given the virtuosic leanings of its final 'Scarbo'. The booklet even finds space to publish translations of the Bertrand prose poems which inspired the work - there are no multi-lingual translations of Korevaar's text itself, so there is more space available, I suppose. A nice idea. The desolation of 'Ondine' and the concentrated atmosphere of 'Le gibet' both prepare the way for a spooky, buzzing 'Scarbo', with appropriate fantastic elements.

Finally, the Tombeau de Couperin - for those familiar only with the orchestral version, the piano has two further movements. Certain movements emerge better than others. The Prelude is nicely shaped, the Fugue placid. But the Forlane suffers from a touch of the plodding, and it almost seems as if Korevaar is either bored with this movement or he just plain does not like it. The finale (Toccata) buzzes nicely, but is that an edit I hear literally just before the end - around 3'58? The timing for the entire movement is 4'08. There appears to be some shift of perspective, anyway a shame, as there is much to admire on this disc, not least the sensitive Miroirs.

Worth investigating if not a Ravelian front-runner.

Colin Clarke



Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical
All Naxos reviews

All Chandos reviews

All Hyperion reviews

All Foghorn reviews

All Troubadisc reviews

Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10
All Divine Art reviews

All Eloquence reviews

All Lyrita Reviews


Obtain 10% discount

Recordings of the Month


Donizetti - Le Convenienze ed Inconvenienze Teatrali

Chamber Symphonies 2 & 4

French Cello Concertos





Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.