One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,928 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             



  AmazonUK   AmazonUS

Arvo PÄRT (b. 1935)
Da pacem Domine (2004) [5:40]
(Da pacem Domine; In diebus nostris; Quia non est alius; Qui pugnet pro nobis; Nisi tu Deus noster)
The Hilliard Ensemble: Sarah Leonard, soprano; David James, counter-tenor; Rogers Covey-Crump, tenor; Stephen Harrold, tenor; Gordon Jones, baritone
Lamentate for piano and orchestra (Homage to Anish Kapoor and his sculpture "Marsyas") (2002) [37:04]
(Minacciando [2:38]; Spietato [3:33]; Fragile [1:04]; Pregando – state d’animo [5:25]; Consolante [1:21]; Stridento [1:31]; Lamentabile [5:46]; Risolutamente [2:45]; Fragile e conciliante [6:56])
Alexei Lubimov (piano)
SWR Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra/Andrey Boreyko
rec. June 2004, Stadthalle Sindelfingen. Germany. DDD
ECM NEW SERIES ECM 1930 [42.46]

This ECM New Series disc of works by Arvo Pärt opens with Da Pacem Domine, a four-part a cappella prayer for peace. Composed in 2004, it has a typically Pärt-ian timeless, floating beauty of sound. The performance by the Hilliard Ensemble is resonant and well paced.

The bulk of this rather short disc (42 mins) is taken up with Lamentate, a work that Pärt describes as a "lament for the living", inspired by Anish Kapoor’s Tate Modern exhibit "Marsyas". At first, I found this work deeply exciting – particularly with its wild, frantic, exultant and monumental Spietato. Yet the work continually veers from these moments of delirious, tempestuous, disharmonious, extrovert tumult to those of great introversion, spacious stillness and peace, almost Einaudi-like in their simplicity. My first impressions of awe and exhilaration soon turned to boredom, as I began to find the work, as Josef Holbrooke said of poor old Goossens "arduous or exhilarating by turns". The main problem with it is that it lacks consistency of inspiration, and that it goes on far too long, with nothing to say. Pärt’s music is usually contemplative and reserved - wonderfully so - but this totally lacks body and substance. Some harsh critics might claim that this is what happens when one takes a lump of metal in the Tate Modern as one’s inspiration rather than the Divine. In any case the result is pretty tinkling sounds interspersed with some booms and bangs, without any meaning, and a complete lack of spiritual backbone. My intense irritation at the Einaudi-esque parts were further exacerbated by an awfully artificial-sounding, reverberant tinkly piano.

Despite good – if extremely resonant - performances of both pieces, this is not a disc I can recommend except possibly to Einaudi fans. Da Pacem Domine is inoffensive -if less exciting and inspired than most of Pärt’s output - but Lamentate I would never have guessed was by Pärt, of whom I used to be a fairly ardent admirer. I find it curiously apt that so tortuous and occasionally tormenting a piece was inspired by a sculpture named after a satyr who was tortured by being flayed alive after challenging Apollo to a musical competition.

Em Marshall



Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical
All Naxos reviews

Chandos recordings
All Chandos reviews

Hyperion recordings
All Hyperion reviews

Foghorn recordings
All Foghorn reviews

Troubadisc recordings
All Troubadisc reviews

all Bridge reviews

all cpo reviews

Divine Art recordings
Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10
All Divine Art reviews

Eloquence recordings
All Eloquence reviews

Lyrita recordings
All Lyrita Reviews


Wyastone New Releases
Obtain 10% discount

Recordings of the Month

July 2022

John Luther Adams Houses of the Wind
John Luther Adams
Houses of the Wind

Horneman Alladin
Horneman Alladin

Stojowski piano concertos
Piano Concertos 1 & 2

Vaughan Williams on Brass

Yi Lin Jiang - Dualis I

June 2022

Beethoven Sonatas 29, 32

Orchestral Works

String Quartets Vol 1



Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.