One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,928 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             




Georg GERSON (1790-1825)
Overture in D major (1812-14) [8:28]
Symphony in E flat major (1817) [32:52]
Friedrich Ludwig Aemilius KUNZEN (1761-1817)
Symphony in G minor (1795) [21:02]
Concerto Copenhagen/Lars Ulrik Mortensen
rec. Garnisons Kirke, Copenhagen, 17-21 May 2004. DDD
CPO 777 085-2 [62:24]


All credit to Lars Ulrik Mortensen and his collaborators in continuing their work to present neglected Danish symphonies of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries.

Gersonís overture will instantly fall into place for you if you know the un-named Schubert overtures and the first two symphonies. There are many familiar echoes and much choice writing for the woodwind. Gerson also owed fealty to the Mozart of the Marriage of Figaro overture, the Haffner symphony and the famous G minor symphony. Itís all very entertaining and easy to like.

Turning to the Gerson symphony we hear again the influence of Mozart and this time the more exalted halls of the Jupiter Symphony. It is not by any means an echoing tribute work for it has some fascinating touches including the wounded cries of the woodwind in the brass climaxes of the first movement (tr. 2, 3:00). After a tentative and tenderly delicate Andante comes a skippingly engaging Menuetto. The finale is confident and works very well in a jovial and good-naturedly regal way. Here perhaps there is a touch of stiffness and a hint of caution but I cannot work out whether this is down to the music or the playing.

Both Gerson and Kunzen were from North Germany but spent musically productive years in Denmark. Kunzenís symphony again apes the Mozart manner in the Allegro moderato but while the backdrop of the Andante is Mozartian there are prominent lines for the woodwind that point towards Weber. After a Haydnesque Menuetto I and II comes the fascinating Presto - full of original touches and sentiment. The firm rhythmic writing is punched home by the horns mellow but emphatic.

Mozart does loom large here but then we can also hear the stirrings of voices arrogated by Weber and early Beethoven.

The usual rewardingly in-depth documentation from CPO; welcome even if the writing is almost invariably slightly indigestible.

If you are in the market for some delightful and freshly imagined orchestral music in the Mozartian vein then look no further.

Rob Barnett




Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical
All Naxos reviews

All Chandos reviews

All Hyperion reviews

All Foghorn reviews

All Troubadisc reviews

Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10
All Divine Art reviews

All Eloquence reviews

All Lyrita Reviews


Obtain 10% discount

Recordings of the Month


Donizetti - Le Convenienze ed Inconvenienze Teatrali

Chamber Symphonies 2 & 4

French Cello Concertos





Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.