One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,928 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             



Ludwig van BEETHOVEN (1770-1827)
Violin Sonata No. 3 in E flat, Op. 12 No. 3a (1797/98) [18'36]
César FRANCK (1822-1890)
Violin Sonata in Ab (1886 ) [28'54].
Guillaume LEKEU (1870-0894)
Violin Sonata in Gc (1891) [32'01].
Yehudi Menuhin (violin); Hephzibah Menuhin (piano).
rec. aSydney, Australia, 1940; bParis, 6-7 January 1936; cLondon, 29 March 1938. mono ADD

An exceptionally interesting trio of sonatas, and a combination that works well as a one-disc recital. The Beethoven dates from Menuhin's second Australian visit, and something of the joy of this time for the violinist is transmuted into Beethovenian joy. There is a real warmth from both pianist and violinist from the outset, both opting for a light tone. Yehudi is not always 100% in tune - as so often - and sometimes the ear seems drawn to Hephzibah's always musical playing. The unsubtle punch in the stomach at 6'24 in the second movement is uncharacteristic in a movement where delicacy is the watchword. The finale is the best movement, with both players enjoying the rhythmic pointing. It also catches Menuhin more in the middle of notes.

The Franck, to be honest, lacks the sense of breadth this work so desperately needs. While the second movement is undeniably exciting, the third is ponderous on Hephzibah's side. The finale is forced - taken down in Paris, maybe the Menuhins were missing the Aussie sunshine that may have induced a more laid-back approach to this masterpiece.

For some, the Lekeu will be the drawing point of this disc. Franck was actually Lekeu's teacher, so the Franckian influence on the finale's opening should hardly come as a surprise. The Menuhins seem closer to Lekeu, though, as right from the start, there is a hypnotic element to the playing - of both parties - that was simply not there in the Beethoven or the Franck. The dreamy, easy flow of the first movement and its cri de coeur (around 6'05) is intensely involving. The 'très lent' second  movement is hyper-delicate.

Whatever my reservations about the Beethoven and - especially - the Franck, the Lekeu makes this disc a worthwhile purchase. This particular performance was available on Biddulph, but alas I do not have a reference copy for comparison. Ward Marston's transfers are excellent, as are Tully Potter's booklet notes.

Colin Clarke

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10


Obtain 10% discount

Recordings of the Month


Symphonic Works

Frederico Mompou

Extraordinary Music for Organ


Gunnar Kristinsson Moonbow

Mozart and Contemporaries


La clarinette Parisienne


Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.