One of the most grown-up review sites around
One of the most grown-up review sites around

Search MusicWeb Here


International mailing

Up to 40% off

  Founder: Len Mullenger



AmazonUK   AmazonUS

Guitar Music of Argentina 2
Quique SINESI (b. 1960) Somidos de aquel día (Sounds from that Day) [3:54]; Contramarca (Opposing Tide) [4:26]; Cielo abierto (Open Sky) [5:35]
Carlos MOSCARDINI (b. 1959) Doña Carmen (Vals Criollo) [3:22]
Diego Máximo PUJOL (b. 1957) Elegia por la muerte de un tanguero [9:49]
Sergio NATALI (b. 1964) Mate dulce (Sweet Maté) [4:05]; Mate caliente (Hot Maté) [2:19]
Victor VILLADANGOS (b. 1958) Hora libre (Free Hour) [1:49]; Tucututá [2:59]
Pepe FERRER (b. 1958) El Felipe (Gato) [1:45]
Marcelo CORONEL (b. 1962) Imaginario popular Argentino (Popular Argentine Legends) [9:06]
Julio SANTILLÁN (b. 1974) Estudio No. 4 “Mal ando” (Badly Off) [2:33]
Carlos GUASTAVINO (1912-2000) Sonata no. 3 [14;56]
Victor Villadangos (guitar)
rec. St. John Chrysostom Church, Newmarket, Ontario, Canada. 6-9 August 2004. DDD
NAXOS 8.557658 [66:39]

Naxos continues its service to the classical guitar repertoire with this, their second collection of guitar music from Argentina (see reviews of the first volume by Gary Higginson and Andy Daly)
Victor Villadangos guides us through the works of these mostly obscure, yet mostly alive and active, composers. Two of the guitarist’s own compositions are also included. Given the unfamiliarity of some of these composers, it is unfortunate that Naxos’s usually helpful liner notes provide no insight about them at all.
Sinesi’s three works show considerable dance-inspired rhythmic vitality. In Cielo Abierto (Open Sky) this is expressed by more intricate percussion than one might this possible from tapping the guitar body. This is, however, combined effectively with moments of intensely sweet lyricism.
Moscardini’s Doña Carmen was written in memory of the composer’s grandmother. Thus, it is understandably slower-tempoed and contemplative. Still, it is a waltz, and it dances.
Pujol is a name fairly well-known to fans of the guitar and Latin American music. Piazzolla is the “tango player” to whom the present work is an elegy. Villadangos is this work’s dedicatee. The notes claim that Pujol deploys serial technique in this homage to the most famous Argentine composer, but this use of serial technique does not intrude into the consciousness of the listener.
Natali provides some Argentine flavor — literally. Sweet Maté and Hot Maté honor the herbal, tea-like drink that is a favored pick-me-up. North American readers might find the first piece evocative of a vanilla latte, and the second of a spiced chai.
If the two brief works here are indicative, Villadangos has considerable skill as a composer as well as guitarist. His are the most “modern”, tonally-edgy sounding works in this collection. He is obviously interested in combining the joy of the dance with exploration of new sounds.
Ferrer’s El Felipe is a short gato (Spanish for “cat”), a type of Argentine dance. Felipe is a tomcat; we get a brief musical window into his amorous adventures.
Coronel’s Popular Argentine Legends provides a musical tour of the folk-spiritual life of the land: goddesses, forest devils, goblins, and a child’s wake. The topics, as indicated by the composer’s titles and explained in the liner notes, remind us of native religious beliefs that remain even when the conquerors’ religion has come to be accepted. I’m not convinced that the music evokes all of these images, but it does display an interesting and compelling variety of mood.
Santillán’s study Badly Off is marked by rhythmic chord-strumming, unique on this disc. Perhaps that makes it the most folk-sounding of the many folk-inspired works here.
The most substantial work here is that of the second moderately familiar composer. Guastavino’s 3rd sonata was premiered by Villadangos. It is the most traditionally classical in form, demonstrating a more thorough domestication of the folk idioms, a form of appropriation undertaken by classical composers at least since Bach. The opening out into the time-span of traditional sonata form marks a significant mood change from the prior works, and in doing so demonstrates the compositional range that Argentinean classical music encompasses.
For fans of Latin American classical guitar music this release will be self-recommending. We have for the most part little-known repertoire that is, nevertheless, very-good to excellent. I haven’t said much yet about Villadangos’s playing, because he achieves the elusive goal of nearly transparently conveying the music directly to the listener. He sounds like he was born to play this music, both in terms of traditional classical technique and also in the unique rhythmic and percussive character of many of these pieces.
The only problem that mars this release is the previously-mentioned lack of information about the composers. There are brief descriptions of each of the works, but notes could have been far more educationally effective.
Brian Burtt

AmazonUK   AmazonUS


Some resources for further exploration
Villadangos’ site (only in Spanish):
Natali’s site (mostly under construction):
Coronel’s site:
Santillán’s site:


We are currently offering in excess of 51,000 reviews

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger

Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.