One of the most grown-up review sites around

52,670 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

  Founder: Len Mullenger             Editor in Chief: John Quinn               Contact Seen and Heard here  

Buy through MusicWeb for £13.99 postage paid World-wide. Immediate delivery direct from Hyperion
You may prefer to pay by Sterling cheque to avoid PayPal. Contact for details

Ludwig van BEETHOVEN (1770-1827)
Piano Trio in C minor, Op. 1/3 (1795) [28.01]
Variations in E flat major, Op. 44 (1792?) [12.27]
Piano Trio in B flat major, Op. 11 (1797) [20.29]
The Florestan Trio: Anthony Marwood (violin), Richard Lester (cello), Susan Tomes (piano)
rec. Henry Wood Hall, London, 7-9 September 2003. DDD
HYPERION CDA 67466 [61.10]

The Florestan Trio's unfolding Beethoven cycle poses a problem for the reviewer, though a welcome one: it's difficult adequately to describe the essential rightness of their performances.

These players' command of the Beethoven style - a precarious balance between clean-limbed order and volatile explosions, all contained within rigorously crafted structures - is thorough and expertly conveyed. In the sonata-form movements as well as the variation sequences - not only Op. 44, but the finale of Op. 11 - the lyrical themes sing within the same basic pulse as the forward-driving, uninhibited allegro sections, drawing power and dramatic weight from the composer's sudden harmonic pivots while maintaining a sense of "Classical" proportion. In the C minor's third movement, labeled Menuetto, the minuet-shaped phrases carry a more scherzo-like temperament; the Florestans take the full measure of both these contradictory impulses, relaxing easily in turn for the unexpectedly gemütlich Trio section. The "lesser" Opus 44 variations - Beethoven deploying his expressive arsenal in the service of rugged, elaborately imagined entertainment music - sound as important as the two "big" trios in this fleshed-out treatment.

No less importantly, this ensemble also finds the right Beethoven sound - as important a component of interpretation as phrasing or tempo, but one unaccountably neglected by otherwise fine artists. The firmly weighted tone of the piano provides the foundation for a dark, burnished ensemble sonority, into which the violin injects a brighter, more incisive note. (Indeed, pianist Susan Tomes deserves special mention for her dazzling, articulate, full-bodied passagework at all dynamic levels.) In both trios, the long-breathed themes of the slow movements - presented by the piano in the C minor, and by the dusky 'cello in the B flat major - acquire their grave dignity as much from the players' depth of tone as from their sober interpretive demeanour.

Hyperion's first-class production, with the resonant ambience enhancing rather than obscuring musical detail, ideally complements the superior performances.

Stephen Francis Vasta

We are currently offering in excess of 52,619 reviews

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger

Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.