One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,928 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             




Joan GUINJOAN (b. 1931)
Clarinet Concerto (2003) [20:14]
Piano Concerto No. 1 (1983) [26:31]
Music for cello and orchestra (1975 rev. 1980) [19:46]
Joan Enric Lluna (clarinet)
David Abramovitz (piano)
Luis Claret (cello)
Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona i Nacional de Catalunya/Ernest Martinez Izquierdo
rec. Auditori de Barcelona, July 2004. DDD
HARMONIA MUNDI HMI 987056 [66:01]

Guinjoan, born in Tarragona, helped his parents in the fields until he was twenty. His musical talents first won him a place in Barcelona's conservatory then at the Ecole Normale in Paris. After a career as concert pianist, which ended in 1960, he turned to composition, studying in Paris and attending classes with Messiaen, concerts of Domaine Musicale and encountering Berio, Xenakis and Stockhausen. His first works until the mid-1970s were avant-garde - the stuff of London's Roundhouse.
Here the three single movement concertos are a product of his later more accessible style although they sometimes wave the shrouds of his earlier years.
The Clarinet Concerto is wild, woolly, unruly, effervescent, feral, jazzy, boisterous, percussion-riled and rapped ... even humorous. Parallels are going to be approximate as usual but the closest I can offer are late Bernstein and Panufnik in his most explosive vein.  Here it is played by the dedicatee. The Piano Concerto emerges from inky realms, grumbling deep in the bass and generating great churning whirlpools, jazzily metropolitan, confident, tense, dissonant, plangent, crystalline, ruthlessly violent and exciting. It is dedicated to Ernest Lluch who was assassinated by ETA.  The Music for cello and orchestra is also played by its dedicatee. It starts, as does the Clarinet Concerto, with the solo instrument alone. Here the cello is sinister, woody, resonant, motorically awesome, gritty, alive with virtuoso invention. It inevitably echoes the otherness of the Kodaly solo cello sonata. After some five minutes of soliloquy the orchestra joins in a tempest of motivic shards and shadows with some gamelan tattoos as at 10:04. This is in the further reaches and is closer to Guinjoan's 1970s avant-garde grounding. Nevertheless much of this is fascinating and as the work progresses the voices of disintegration are subdued if not completely stilled.
Guinjoan is now one of Catalan music's doyens. I hope there is some way to get to hear his well reported Second Symphony and his opera Gaudi.
Do get this disc - it's not an easy listen for most of the time but it is rewarding and will appeal to anyone already wedded to the constituency of Bernstein, Bolcom and Schuman.
Rob Barnett




Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical
All Naxos reviews

Chandos recordings
All Chandos reviews

Hyperion recordings
All Hyperion reviews

Foghorn recordings
All Foghorn reviews

Troubadisc recordings
All Troubadisc reviews

all Bridge reviews

all cpo reviews

Divine Art recordings
Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10
All Divine Art reviews

Eloquence recordings
All Eloquence reviews

Lyrita recordings
All Lyrita Reviews


Wyastone New Releases
Obtain 10% discount

Recordings of the Month

July 2022

John Luther Adams Houses of the Wind
John Luther Adams
Houses of the Wind

Horneman Alladin
Horneman Alladin

Stojowski piano concertos
Piano Concertos 1 & 2

Vaughan Williams on Brass

Yi Lin Jiang - Dualis I

June 2022

Beethoven Sonatas 29, 32

Orchestral Works

String Quartets Vol 1



Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.