MusicWeb International One of the most grown-up review sites around

and more.. and still writing ...


Search MusicWeb Here


Acte Prealable Polish CDs

Presto Music CD retailer

International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             

Some items
to consider


paid for

Acte Prealable Polish recordings

Forgotten Recordings
Forgotten Recordings
All Forgotten Records Reviews

Troubadisc Weinberg- TROCD01450

100th birthday of Mieczyslaw Weinberg on December 8, 2019.
Renate Eggbrecht has recorded all 3 violin Sonatas
All Troubadisc reviews

FOGHORN Classics

Brahms String Quartets

All Foghorn Reviews

All HDTT reviews

Salon Treasures from the Max Jaffa Library



Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Contributing Editor
Ralph Moore
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger


Discs for review may be sent to:
Jonathan Woolf
76 Lushes Road
Essex IG10 3QB
United Kingdom


Support us financially by purchasing this from

Lochrian Lollipops
The Lochrian Ensemble
Recording details not supplied
HOXA HS 5026-22 [68:40]

The Lochrian String Quartet is a popular chamber group based in Southwest England, and well-known for a wide repertoire of music, from classical to new works. Lollipops are fun, light-hearted musical numbers that are used as encores to end a show on a happy note. This disc features the Lochrian String Quartet performing 19 of their favorite lollipops, each arranged for strings.

George Gershwin (1898-1937) composed six numbers in this set. The tune Slap That Bass first appeared in the 1937 film Shall We Dance, starring Fred Astaire. This jazzy arrangement by Carlo Martelli features interesting counter melodies and dissonance between the strings, and breaks out in a brief salute to I’ve Got Rhythm. Bill Thorp arranged a gorgeous version of Gershwin’s S’Wonderful which was written for the 1927 musical Funny Face. The song floats with weaving melodic lines beautifully set off by by a bass line that gently alternates bowing and plucking, a technique used in many of these arrangements. Scott Joplin (1868-1917) published Ragtime Dance in 1906. The tune is a ragtime classic, a beautifully melodic two-step that originally employed stop time with a heavy-foot stomp, replaced in this version by the lighter sound of a wooden block. Cole Porter (1891-1964) wrote Just One of Those Things for the 1935 musical Jubilee. Tony Esposito created a full, rich arrangement that is quite different, and varies with four-part chords, changes in tempo and even time signature.

Leroy Anderson (1908-1975) was a musician and composer of numerous light orchestral works. He was known for colorful string arrangements and his extensive use of pizzicato, which he used entirely when he composed Plink, Plank, Plunk in 1951. The Quartet performs a spirited arrangement complete with sound effects of gongs, screeches and breaking glass. In 1947 Leroy composed Fiddle Faddle, a playful and lively perpetual motion composition which many consider to be the ultimate lollipop. The story goes that conductor Arthur Fiedler of the Boston Pops used it so often at Pops concerts that the tune became known as Fiedler Faddle. William Zinn created both fine Anderson arrangements that appear on this disc.

This album was previously released in 2001 on the Hoxa Sound label when the quartet was known as the Lochrian Ensemble. An 8-page booklet is included with the disc. The sound quality is excellent.

Bruce McCollum

Catherine Black, Violin
Alison Black, Violin
Nerissa Dando, Viola
Christine Johnstone, Cello
Slap That Bass- George Gershwin arr. Carlo Martelli (2:46)
Makin’ Whopee- Walter Donaldson arr. Bill Thorp (2:10)
Our Love Is Here To Stay- George Gershwin arr. Bill Thorp (4:31)
Let’s Do It- Cole Porter arr. Bill Thorp (3:47)
Just Another Rhumba- George Gershwin arr. Carlo Martelli (3:30)
Roseleaf Rag- Scott Joplin arr. Bill Thorp (4:30)
Summertime- George Gershwin arr. D. Fraser (2:31)
Moonlight in Vermont- Kark Suessdorf arr. Bill Thorp (4:05)
New York, New York- Leonard Bernstein arr. Bill Thorp (2:59)
Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off- George Gershwin arr. Carlo Martelli (5:22)
My Funny Valentine- Richard Rodgers arr. Bill Thorp (3:05)
Ragtime Dance- Scott Joplin arr. Bill Thorp (3:51)
Plink, Plank, Plunk- Leroy Anderson arr. William Zinn (2:16)
Anything Goes- Cole Porter arr. Bill Thorp (2:44)
S’Wonderful- George Gershwin arr. Bill Thorp (3:37)
A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square- Manning Sherwin arr. Bill Thorp (4:49)
Every Time We Say Goodbye- Cole Porter arr. Bill Thorp (6:20)
Just One of Those Things- Cole Porter arr. Tony Esposito (2:28)
Fiddle Faddle- Leroy Anderson arr. William Zinn (3:23)

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical
All Naxos reviews

Chandos recordings
All Chandos reviews

Hyperion recordings
All Hyperion reviews

Foghorn recordings
All Foghorn reviews

Troubadisc recordings
All Troubadisc reviews

all Bridge reviews

all cpo reviews

Divine Art recordings
Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10
All Divine Art reviews

Eloquence recordings
All Eloquence reviews

Lyrita recordings
All Lyrita Reviews


Wyastone New Releases
Obtain 10% discount

Recordings of the Month

July 2022

John Luther Adams Houses of the Wind
John Luther Adams
Houses of the Wind

Horneman Alladin
Horneman Alladin

Stojowski piano concertos
Piano Concertos 1 & 2

Vaughan Williams on Brass

Yi Lin Jiang - Dualis I

June 2022

Beethoven Sonatas 29, 32

Orchestral Works

String Quartets Vol 1