One of the most grown-up review sites around

51,000 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

  Founder: Len Mullenger             Editor in Chief: John Quinn               Contact Seen and Heard here  

Some items
to consider


colourful imaginative harmony
Renate Eggebrecht violin

Leticia Gómez-Tagle
Chopin, Liszt, Scarlatti

Bax Piano Music

Guillaume LEKEU


Superior performance

Shostakovich 6&7 Nelsons

Verdi Requiem Thielemann

Marianna Henriksson
An outstanding recital

Arnold Bax
Be converted

this terrific disc

John Buckley
one of my major discoveries

François-Xavier Roth
A game-changing Mahler 3


Bryden Thomson


Vaughan Williams Concertos

RVW Orchestral


REVIEW Plain text for smartphones & printers

Support us financially by purchasing
this through MusicWeb
for £10.50 postage paid world-wide.

Cristina SPINEI (b. 1984)
Music For Dance
From (2010) [6:46]
Perspectives (2012) [6:56]
Meet Me Under The Clock (2013) [6:51]
Some Breaking (2009) [15:12]
Bootleg Sugar Lips (2012) [16:27]
Synched (2010) [10:59]
Voxare String Quartet (From, Breaking)
Pala García, Joan Plana (violin), Amanda Verner (viola), Aleisha Verner (cello) (Perspectives, Bootleg)
Sari De Leon Reist (cello), Colleen Phelps (marimba) (Meet)
St Michel Strings/Jose Serebrier (Synched)
rec. Oktaven Audio, Yonkers, New York, November 2009 (Breaking), December 2010 (From), May 2012 (Perspectives, Bootleg); The Bomb Shelter, Nashville, Tennessee, February 2016 (Meet); Mikaeli Hall, Mikkeli, October 2011 (Synched)
First recordings

Juilliard graduate and student of Christopher Rouse, Cristina Spinei has a background in experimental technology for music composition and performance. She collaborated in a group called Blind Ear, which used software to send music to the performers essentially as it was being written. This meant that the musical elements tended to be short and intended for repetition, thus we have works very much of the minimalist school. I should say the works presented here fit into the latter style, but not the former method of composition/performance.

Spinei has established a connection with a number of dance ensembles and choreographers, leading to this selection of her music. Not having an dance background myself, other than observation, I was surprised at the very slow tempos in a number of the works, presuming that this would make them rather difficult to dance to. From and Perspectives . Meet me Under The Clock is inspired by the helter-skelter of New York’s Grand Central Station, and is the only work to feature a non-string instrument, the marimba. As such, its different soundworld and also its more upbeat tempo provides a pleasing contrast to the other works. Some Breaking has a Asian feel to my ears, with extended sequences of high plucked notes. Again, dancing to this would seem to be a challenge. Bootleg Sugar Lips was written at the request of choreographer Kathleen Dyer, who wanted music of a similar nature to John Adams’s Shaker Loops. The title may seem a trifle odd: Spinei gave it a working name of Bootleg Shaker Loops which was misheard by the dance troupe rehearsing to it. Of the six works, it is the purest of the minimalist style, in that there is a very slow and “minimal” progression across the sixteen-plus minutes. I found it the least interesting. The final work is the only non-chamber piece, though it was originally written as began as an aleatoric piece for string octet and electronics. While this may not sound encouraging, its re-imagining as a work string orchestra is very successful, with the repetitive elements mixing with some quite lovely solo writing.

The performances are very convincing, and the sound is immediate and natural. The composer provides informative and very readable booklet notes.

If the mix of tunefulness and repetition, such as in Philip Glass’s later works, appeals to you, this should be a rewarding purchase.

David Barker



We are currently offering in excess of 51,000 reviews

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger