52,943 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

  Founder: Len Mullenger             Editor in Chief: John Quinn               Contact Seen and Heard here  


  AmazonUK   AmazonUS

A Musicianís Alphabet

by Susan Tomes

2006, Faber & Faber, 149 pp, hardcover

ISBN 0-571-22883-6

Oh, to be multi-talented! Susan Tomes is the pianist of the much-admired Florestan Trio, and before that, the quintet Domus. In that role, she is "top of the pops" for me as chamber musician Ė her groupsí recordings of the Fauré quartets and quintets and Mendelssohn trios, to name but three, are simply marvellous. It is one of my lasting regrets, which I hope to put right in the future, that I have not seen either Domus or the Florestans in concert, the former not having toured Australia and the latterís tour not taking them to the city where I live.

However, she doesnít simply provide the world with her musical thoughts from the keyboard, but also from the pen. She has written what must be the most informative and intelligent account of being a chamber musician in Beyond The Notes (Boydell Press, 2004), which includes a number of short essays on music. She also contributes regularly to The Guardian and Financial Times as well as broadcasting on the BBC.

The present book is a collection of twenty-six articles, each linked to a letter of the alphabet: A is for Audience, B is for Background Music, C is Chamber Music and so on. Yes, this is somewhat of an artificial way of constructing a collection of essays, but it doesnít really detract from the overall quality of the writing.

By way of example of the style and nature of the articles, I have chosen the first: "A is for Audience", If youíll pardon the paraphrase, it isnít wise to judge an essay by its title: it would be easy to imagine that this is a diatribe against coughers, applauders and lack of attendees. Nothing could be further from the truth: as with each of the articles, it is a comfortable mix of the authorís experiences and philosophies - yes, her frustrations do emerge from time to time, but in a very gentle way. She talks about choosing clothes appropriate for the occasion (both as performer and audience member), the relationship between performer and audience, the social context of a concert and the importance of live music in these days of recordings.

Susan Tomesí writing is conversational in the best sense of the word, considered and personal. With each of the essays lasting no more than eight pages and having no direct connection with each other, it is an ideal book to read one "letter" at a time, as a brief escape from a busy life. Mind you, I had to stop myself from reading the whole lot at one go, like eating a bag of lollies.

I can thoroughly recommend this, particularly when it is being sold at a such a reasonable price. I bought it from AmazonUK for less than £9.

David J Barker



Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger

Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.