One of the most grown-up review sites around
One of the most grown-up review sites around

Search MusicWeb Here


International mailing

Up to 40% off

  Founder: Len Mullenger


Buy through MusicWeb for £11.50postage paid World-wide. Immediate delivery
You may prefer to pay by Sterling cheque to avoid PayPal. Contactfor details

Purchase button

Organ in Europe from Renaissance and Baroque
Claudio VEGGIO
(16th century)

dal Manoscritto di Castel'Arquato Recercarda per b quadro del primo tono [5'58]
Marc'Antonio CAVAZZONI (c1485-c1569)

da 'Recerchari, Motetti, Canzoni' (1523) Plus. de Regres [3'03]
Paul HOFHAIMER (1449-1537)

Recordare (1520) [4'33]
Tanndernack [4'07]
John BULL (1562-1628)

dal 'Fitzwilliam Virginal Book' (1610-1619) In Nomine (IX) [5'59]
William BYRD (1543-1623)

dal 'Fitzwilliam Virginal Book' The Queenes Alman [3'14]
Jan Pieterszoon SWEELINCK (1562-1621)

Onder een linde groen [5'15]
Heinrich SCHEIDEMANN (1596-1663)

Galliarda ex D [4'12]
Girolamo FRESCOBALDI (1583-1643)

da 'Il Primo Libro di Capricci' (1624) Capriccio V sopra la Bassa Flamenga [5'25]
Francisco CORREA DE ARAUXO (1583/4-1654)

dal Libro de Tientos y Discursos (1626)
LIII Tiento de medio registro de dos tiples de segundo tono [5'53]
Samuel SCHEIDT (1587-1654)

dalla 'Tabulatura Nova' (1624) Toccata super 'In te Domine speravi' [8'24]
Johann Jakob FROBERGER (1616-1667)

Fantasia I sopra Ut, Re, Mi, Fa, Sol, La (1649) [7'49]
Bernardo PASQUINI (1637-1710)

Variationi per il Paggio Todesco [4'27]
Johann Kaspar KERLL (1627-1693)

Canzone I [3'02]
Toccata I [5'03]
Luca Scandali, organ
Rec: Chiesa di S. Caterina, Treviso, Italy, October 1999. DDD
TACTUS TC 510002 [77'31]

The first thing to be said about this disc is what a fabulous collection of music it contains. It stretches across five countries and nearly two hundred years; it provides a showcase for an inspiring piece of contemporary organ building. The selection features such wonderful juxtapositions as the sultry and masterful music of Correa - how little we still know about performing this music in Northern Europe - followed by the early Hanseatic grandeur of Samuel Scheidt's In te Domine Toccata. Francesco Zanin constructed his instrument for the church of St Caterina, (actually a museum), in Treviso in 1998. Tuned in 1/4 comma meantone, the organ is a reconstruction of a Renaissance Italian instrument with the typical characteristics: a single keyboard of rather long compass, a ripieno separated into its component parts, just a single, fractional length reed stop - the charming Cornamuse - a hypnotic Flauto in Octava, and a Voce Umana. Unfortunately this supremely beautiful instrument is poorly served here by a rather out-of-focus photo.

It is however rather better served by the playing of Luca Scandali. A former Tagliavini student and first prize winner at Innsbruck, Scandali's playing is characterised by excellent control and a beautiful touch. Sometimes I find his playing a little square; listening blind I would struggle to identify him as an Italian organist. The exception would perhaps be the Italian repertoire, and indeed the various sections of the Frescobaldi are compellingly handled. His generally solid approach suits the earliest repertoire well; occasionally I miss a little variety in the characterisation of rhetorical motives in the later music. That said, this is excellent playing, with a natural affinity for the different styles. It takes real imagination to put together such an internationally/stylistically diverse programme on this most Italian of instruments and make it work. Some of the music of course comes from before the real separation of the national organ-building schools, but the later repertoire is also cleverly chosen. It serves also to remind us of some repertoire we should know better; how interesting for example is the music of Pasquini, an almost exact contemporary of Buxtehude!

Strongly recommended for imaginative programming and a gorgeous instrument.

Chris Bragg



We are currently offering in excess of 51,000 reviews

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger

Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.