One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,416 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             



Graham Fitkin was born in Cornwall in 1963. He studied at Nottingham University with Peter Nelson and Nigel Osborne. After completing his studies there Graham travelled to The Netherlands to study with Louis Andriessen at Koninklijk Conservatorium in The Hague.

Composing for solo or multiple pianos has been central to his work. He works regularly with pianist Kathryn Stott, founded the four-pianist group ‘Nanquidno’ and has worked closely with the six piano ensemble Piano Circus. He often performs his own works and also performs in duo with partner Ruth Wall.

A ‘Composer for Dance Award’ in 1990 led to a new work for David Massingham Dance. Ever since then Graham has worked frequently with choreographers around the world with recent performances being given by Shobana Jeyasingh Dance Company, Wayne MacGregor's Random Dance, Pacific Northwest Ballet, New York City Ballet, San Francisco Ballet, Munich Ballet and the National Ballet of Portugal. Fitkin won the International Grand Prix Music for Dance Video Award in 1994.

Known particularly for his ensemble writing, Fitkin has collaborated with many of today's performers of new music including the Nederlands Blazersensemble, Apollo Saxophone Quartet, Smith Quartet, Ensemble Bash, Thomas Bowes and Eleanor Alberga, and the London Chamber Orchestra.

Graham was Composer-in-Association with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra between 1994 and 1996 and wrote five orchestral works in this period. Since then several new works have been commissioned and composed for orchestra, and performances include those by the Hallé, BBC Philharmonic, English Northern Philharmonia, RSNO, BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Bournemouth Symphony, Ulster, Nederlands Radio Orchestra, and Uster Festival (Switzerland).

The Fitkin Group was founded in 1996 to perform the composer's work alongside other contemporary composers (e.g. Bryars, Poppy, Feldman) and has given performances throughout the UK, in the EU and most recently at the Varna Festival in Bulgaria.

Graham is committed to education work. He has directed various projects including 3 PRS Composer in Education residencies, led university seminars, given composition master-classes and directed workshops all over the UK as well as in Soweto, South Africa.

Recent works include Graham’s Double Concerto for two Pianos and Orchestra - ‘Circuit’ which was given its UK premiere at the Bridgewater Hall, Manchester earlier this year. It was a BBC commission and performed by soloists Kathyrn Stott and Noriko Ogawa with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra. Another recent piece is ‘KAPLAN’, a sixty minute piece for keyboards based on the central character from Hitchcock’s North By Northwest. This seven movement work also uses video and live webcams and is concerned with mistaken identity.

Future commissions include a piano trio commissioned by the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, a new BBC commission for the Duke Quartet, a brass quartet for Trillium, a solo for the new organ at Birmingham Symphony Hall and a new interactive work ‘Geography’.


Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical
All Naxos reviews

Chandos recordings
All Chandos reviews

Hyperion recordings
All Hyperion reviews

Foghorn recordings
All Foghorn reviews

Troubadisc recordings
All Troubadisc reviews

all cpo reviews

Divine Art recordings
Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10
All Divine Art reviews

All APR reviews

Lyrita recordings
All Lyrita Reviews


Wyastone New Releases
Obtain 10% discount

Recordings of the Month

November 2022
Bach Orchestral Suites

del Cinque
Del Cinque Cello sonatas

Fujita Mozart
Mao Fujita Mozart

Stanczyk Acousmatic Music


October 2022

Berg Violin Concerto
Violin Concerto Elmes

DEbussy Jeux
Debussy Jeux

Romantic pioano masters
Romantic Piano Masters

The future is female - Vol 2
Volume 2 - The Dance

impromptu harp music
Complete Harp Impromptus


Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.