CD Reviews

Music on the Web (UK)

Webmaster: Len Mullenger

[ Jazz index ] [Nostalgia index]  [ Classical MusicWeb ] [ Gerard Hoffnung ]

Reviewers: Tony Augarde [Editor], Don Mather, Sam Webster, Jonathan Woolf, Glyn Pursglove


Live in Graz

Artists Recording Collective ARC 2062





1. Easy Walker - Intro
2. Easy Walker
3. Song Without Words - Intro
4. Song Without Words
5. Elegy
6. Rain Threads - Intro
7. Rain Threads
8. Street of Dreams - Intro
9. Street of Dreams
10. Foots
11. Stan's Song - Intro
12. Stan's Song
13. Night Mist - Intro
14. Night Mist
Lee Shaw - Piano
Rich Syracuse - Bass
Jeff "Siege" Siegel - Drums

The best word I can find to describe pianist Lee Shaw is "ladylike". This is not only because she is a lady but also because she has a delicate touch at the piano and seldom plays with excessive force. Mind you, she was aged 81 when this CD was recorded at Graz in Austria in November  2007, which may explain her generally gentle approach.

Lee wrote five of the eight tunes on the album, most of which are preceded by her spoken introductions. The non-originals are Billy Taylor's Easy Walker, which makes a swinging opener; Victor Young's Street of Dreams, which displays the lyrical side of Lee's playing; and Ahmad Jamal's Night Mist, which is given a relaxed ten-minute outing by the trio (although the drum solo is frankly a bit of a mess). Altogether the trio's playing is likeable without being particularly outstanding.

The package appears attractive because it includes a DVD as well as a CD. However, the recording quality of the DVD is poor and the footage looks like a home movie. The camera mostly remains stationary, only moving occasionally to zoom in on the musicians, although the pianist's hands are often half-hidden behind someone's head. And the sound quality is poor: recorded in an echoey room. The so-called "bonus track" - Blues Eleven - is illustrated with still photos, and there are interviews with the band members

So this is a pleasant package but let down by the presentation.

Tony Augarde




Error processing SSI file

Return to Index

Reviews from previous months

You can purchase CDs, tickets and musician's accessories and Save around 22% with these retailers: