CD Reviews

MusicWeb International

Webmaster: Len Mullenger

[ Jazz index ] [Nostalgia index]  [ Classical MusicWeb ] [ Gerard Hoffnung ]

Reviewers: Tony Augarde [Editor], Don Mather, Sam Webster, Jonathan Woolf, Glyn Pursglove


The Nine Mile Burn Sessions

Thick-Skinned TRCD 0001



1. Intro
2. Thingin'
3. Dedicated to You
4. Luiza
5. Don't You Care to Know
6. Nancy
7. Blame It on My Youth
8. They Say It's Wonderful
9. I'll Never Be the Same
10. The Masquerade (Is Over)
11. Young and Foolish
Brian Kellock - Piano
Julian Arguelles - Saxes

Some jazz writers and broadcasters have made a great thing about the renaissance of jazz in Scotland, citing such artists as Ronnie Rae and his multi-talented family, Tommy Smith, Paul Towndrow and Alyn Cosker. This is nothing new, as Scotland has a long record of producing fine jazz players, including George Chisholm, Tommy McQuater and Duncan Campbell.

One of the most highly lauded Scottish musicians is pianist Brian Kellock. This CD, recorded at The Sound Café, Nine Mile Burn in Penicuik, puts Brian together with English saxophonist Julian Arguelles in a series of tracks which illustrate their wide range and talents.

In fact Kellock plays alone on several tracks, including Antonio Carlos Jobim's slow Luiza; Duke Ellington's Don't You Care to Know (with gentle stride); and the meditative Blame It on My Youth and I'll Never Be the Same.

These solo outings make a nice contrast with the duets. Thingin' is a Lee Konitz tune based on the chords of All the Things You Are. It starts with out-of tempo meanderings from the duo before going into vigorously up-tempo improvisation. Julian's more tender side is shown in Dedicated to You, where he almost matches the mellowness of Stan Getz.

Irving Berlin's They Say It's Wonderful increases the tempo again, with Arguelles cheekily inserting a quote from It's Easy to Remember, while Kellock dances kitten-like on the keys. The interplay between the two is well illustrated by the contrapuntal passages, where they respond to one another with brotherly understanding. Although most of the tunes are jazz standards, the opening Intro appears to be completely improvised by Kellock and Arguelles.

As with most duet recordings, this one benefits from the fact that the two musicians support one another with laudable empathy. And Brian Kellock's solo tracks are evidence of an accomplished pianist who continues Scotland's tradition of producing virtuosic jazzman.

Tony Augarde





Error processing SSI file

Return to Index

Reviews from previous months

You can purchase CDs, tickets and musician's accessories and Save around 22% with these retailers: