CD Reviews

Music on the Web (UK)

Webmaster: Len Mullenger

[ Jazz index ] [Nostalgia index]  [ Classical MusicWeb ] [ Gerard Hoffnung ]

Reviewers: Tony Augarde [Editor], Don Mather, Dick Stafford, John Eyles, Robert Gibson, Ian Lace, Colin Clarke, Jack Ashby

AmazonUK   AmazonUS


Love Songs

Rhino 8122-79941-0





1. We’re in This Love Together
2. Teach Me Tonight
3. So Good
4. After All
5. Wait for the Magic
6. Your Song
7. Heaven and Earth
8. Through it All
9. Let it Rain (with George Benson & Patti Austin)
10. Not Like This
11. Brite ‘n’ Sunny Babe
12. Secrets of Love
13. My Foolish Heart
14. Goodhands Tonight

Al Jarreau is unusual, a singer of best-selling albums and singles, who is also a quality performer. He has a soft soothing voice and diction that enables you to hear the words of the song. This compilation album of love songs from his many CDs, features many original compositions, one or two big hits and a couple of standards. It is music to relax to, after a ‘hard day at the office’! 

Track 9 benefits from the presence of two more quality performers, Patti Austin and George Benson, who add a something to the overall feel of the album. The backings throughout are well written and perfectly played. 

Al is not an out-and-out jazz singer, but then neither was Frank Sinatra, yet both of them can deliver a song with excellence and much style.  

Before listening to this album, I did not realise just what a great performer Al Jarreau is. His success is obviously well deserved. 

Don Mather





Error processing SSI file

Return to Index

Reviews from previous months

You can purchase CDs, tickets and musician's accessories and Save around 22% with these retailers: