CD Reviews

Music on the Web (UK)

Webmaster: Len Mullenger

[ Jazz index ] [Nostalgia index]  [ Classical MusicWeb ] [ Gerard Hoffnung ]

Reviewers: Tony Augarde [Editor], Don Mather, Dick Stafford, John Eyles, Robert Gibson, Ian Lace, Colin Clarke, Jack Ashby

AmazonUK   AmazonUS


Introducing Hank Crawford

Rhino 8122 79939 3




1. Angel Eyes
2. Misty
3. Lorelei’s Lament
4. Please Send Me Someone to Love
5. The Peeper
6. Baby Let Me Hold Your Hand
7. Stardust
8. Two Years of Torture
9. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
10. Groovin’
11. Read’Em and Weep
12. Whispering Grass


Hank Crawford began his musical career in the Ray Charles Band in 1958; he eventually became its Musical Director and stayed with the band until 1963. His solo recording career started three years earlier in 1960, however, and he recorded no fewer than twelve albums for the Atlantic label. 

He has an excellent sound on alto sax and he is happy in all playing situations and types of music, as this composite album amply demonstrates. His playing is rooted in the blues and this is the reason for the excellent jazz feel he gives to all the tracks. 

Hank started out on baritone with the Ray Charles Band: that was probably the only chair available at the time! He is also a highly skilled arranger, which he put to good use in the Charles band. His playing bridges R & B, funk and the straight-ahead jazz that characterised his more recent offerings. David Sanborn lists Hank as one of his major influences. 

If you are not familiar with his playing, this CD is a good “Introduction to Hank Crawford”. It contains an absolutely beautiful version of Hoagy Carmichael’s Stardust, backed by the Marty Paich Orchestra; it’s worth the money for this track alone.  

Don Mather 





Error processing SSI file

Return to Index

Reviews from previous months

You can purchase CDs, tickets and musician's accessories and Save around 22% with these retailers: