CD Reviews

Music on the Web (UK)

Webmaster: Len Mullenger

[ Jazz index ] [Nostalgia index]  [ Classical MusicWeb ] [ Gerard Hoffnung ]

Reviewers: Don Mather, Tony Augarde, Dick Stafford, John Eyles, Robert Gibson, Ian Lace, Colin Clarke, Jack Ashby



Love Pages




  1. What You Gonna Do- Featuring Glenn Jones
  2. Donít Make me Cry - Featuring Peabo Bryson
  3. Used to Be - Featuring Christopher Williams
  4. One more Bridge to Cross - Featuring Vesta
  5. Iím Changing- Featuring Maysa
  6. Brazilian Heat - Featuring Bobby Lyle
  7. To Be with You - Featuring Jon Lucien
  8. Urban Jungle - Featuring Roy Ayers & Kenny Garrett
  9. U & I - Featuring Denise Stewart & Duke Jones
  10. You Donít Have to Say Your Sorry- Featuring Jazmyn
  11. Stay In My Heart - Maysa
  12. Sheba - Featuring Louis Taylor & Nichelle Holiday
  13. Pier 68 - Featuring Roy Ayers, Pucho & The Latin Soul Bros.
  14. Get Up on It - Featuring Rene McLean & Chris Albert
  15. Pages - Featuring George Benson

This is a superior quality ĎPopí album, I call it superior Pop because the music is played by excellent musicians, many of whom would be capable of making a superb jazz album. There is unfortunately little for the jazz fan here however, even the four instrumental tracks are largely sanitised to make them acceptable to a pop audience.

Even the playing of Roy Ayers can make little impact and on Urban jungle he is hardly heard at all!

The nearest to a real jazz track is Get Up on It, which features Rene McLean & Chris Albert, but even that doesnít swing a lot because of the over busy and repetitive backing.

Don Mather


    Error processing SSI file

    Return to Index

    Reviews from previous months

    You can purchase CDs, tickets and musician's accessories and Save around 22% with these retailers: