CD Reviews

Music on the Web (UK)

Webmaster: Len Mullenger

[ Jazz index ] [Nostalgia index]  [ Classical MusicWeb ] [ Gerard Hoffnung ]

Reviewers: Don Mather, Tony Augarde, Dick Stafford, John Eyles, Robert Gibson, Ian Lace, Colin Clarke, Jack Ashby

AmazonUK   AmazonUS
Swinging Bach
Bobby McFerrin & Guests

Gil Shah am & Adele Anthony
Jacques Loussier Trio
King’s Singers
German Brass
Jiri Stivin & Collegium Quodlibet
Turtle Island String Quartet
Quintessence Saxophone Quintet
Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
Christian Gansch
EuroArts INVITATION 2050406



  1. Concerto in D Major, 1 Allegro, German Brass
  2. Orchestral Suite No 1 in C Major, Gewandhausorchester, Leipzig.
  3. Fugue No 5 in D Major, Jacques Loussier Trio
  4. Concerto for 2 violins and orchestra in D Major, Gil Shaham & Adele Adele Anthony
  5. Toccata & Fugue in D Minor, German Brass
  6. Orchestral Suite No 3 in D Major, Bobby McFerrin
  7. Concerto in D Major, German Brass
  8. Fudge Fugue in D Major, Quintessence
  9. Concerto for 2 Violins & Orchestra Gil shah am & Adele Anthony
  10. Bach’s Lunch
  11. Snow What? Turtle Island String Quartet
  12. Deconstructing Johan, King’s Singers
  13. Improvisation on "Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme" Bobby McFerrin/Jacques Loussier
  14. Orchestral Suite No 3 in D Major, Gavotte, Jacques Loussier Trio.
  15. Toccata & Funk & Chorale, Quintessence
  16. J S Bach/Miles Davis: Seven Steps to Bach, Turtle Island String Quartet
  17. Orchestral suite No 2 in B Minor, Minuet, Badinerie, Jifi Stivin
  18. Bach Medley, Stivin/ Collegium Quodlibet
  19. Improvisation 1
  20. Improvisation 2
  21. Improvisation on "Ave Maria"
  22. Improvisation on the Largo from the Concerto for Keyboard and Orchestra in F Minor. Bobby McFerrin (18 to 22)
  23. Brandenburg Concerto, Allegro, German Brass
  24. Concerto for Keyboard & Orchestra in D Major, Allegro, Jacques Loussier trio
  25. Orchestral Suite No3 in D Major, Bobby McFerrin, Shah am & Anthony , Stivin, Gewandhausorchester, Christian Gansch

This concert which was held on July 28th.2000, was in celebration of the towns most famous son, Johan Sebastian Bach who worked in Leipzig from 1723, until his death in 1750. It was recorded in the Market Place on an evening when the weather was not kind, but the quality of the performances here kept the standing audience in its place despite the occasional downpours!

I approached watching this DVD as though I was part of that audience and as someone who is not an expert on the music of JSB and I found the whole recording absolutely fascinating. Bach was a great innovator, that I do know and I am sure he would have been delighted with the whole concert. All of the artists acquit themselves very well and some give virtuoso performances, my previous experience of Bobby McFerrin has been limited, but here he is undoubtedly the star performer and as such he gives great encouragement to the other musicians.

The Jacques Loussier Trio I am familiar with and their musical ability and jazz interpretations of the work of JSB have always been exceptional, they are probably unique in the jazz world.

The other artists are all first class and each makes a significant contribution to a concert that I would have loved to have attended. JSB created in his lifetime a library of music that will be played for ever, music that on the strength of this concert we realise to be open ended and capable of adaptation from one genre to another. Very few composers have achieved this.

If you buy one DVD this month, buy this one it will reward you with an evening of magnificent entertainment.

Don Mather

    Error processing SSI file

    Return to Index

    Reviews from previous months

    You can purchase CDs, tickets and musician's accessories and Save around 22% with these retailers: