One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,928 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             

The British Music Society

Buy through MusicWeb for £10.00 postage paid World-wide. Immediate delivery
You may prefer to pay by Sterling cheque to avoid PayPal charges. Contact for details
(remove nospam from the address)

£10.00 Price include post/packing & air mail for International orders
Kenneth LEIGHTON (1929-1988)
Four Romantic Pieces Op. 95 (1987) [21:29]
Sonata for Four Hands Op. 92 (1984-85) [21:18]
Kenneth Leighton (Opp. 92, 95); Colin Kingsley (Op. 92)
rec. Wigmore Hall, Nov 1987, Feb 1988. AAD

This is an issue of commanding interest if you value the landscape of piano solo music created in the British Isles during the post-war period.

Leighton is no pastoralist. He is tougher combining two inimical voices - he studied with both Finzi and Petrassi. There are three symphonies (one is available on Chandos) and ten concertos including three piano concertos. The end result in the Op. 95 set is a work that picks up on the writing of Bartók, judiciously accented with dissonance and with tributaries feeding in from blues, jazz and Rachmaninov; some might even think of Kapustin from time to time. The three movement Sonata starts and ends in with the sort of insistent bell-clear writing we encounter from Martinů in his Toccata e Due Canzoni touching obsessively on the depths plumbed by Britten's Grimes Passacaglia. This is again challengingly attractive music with jazzy infusions - back to Kapustin again. In the finale I was reminded of the more insistent romantically flourishing music in Bliss's Piano Concerto.

The notes by Paul Spicer provide all the essential information.

Being able to buy this certainly justifies joining the BMS.

This is extremely impressive music. I would not want anyone to be in any doubt about this and the performances could hardly be more authoritative.

The disc insert warns that the master reel-to-reel tape had deteriorated by the time the transfer came to be made. Be reassured I could hear nothing to worry you. The sound is stable, without wow and warmly centred.

Rob Barnett

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical
All Naxos reviews

Chandos recordings
All Chandos reviews

Hyperion recordings
All Hyperion reviews

Foghorn recordings
All Foghorn reviews

Troubadisc recordings
All Troubadisc reviews

all Bridge reviews

all cpo reviews

Divine Art recordings
Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10
All Divine Art reviews

Eloquence recordings
All Eloquence reviews

Lyrita recordings
All Lyrita Reviews


Wyastone New Releases
Obtain 10% discount

Recordings of the Month


Chopin Bruce Liu

Ingeneri Volume 2

Mondonville - Titon et L'Aurore

Telemann - French Cantatas 1


March 2022

Brahms Symphony 4
MacMillan Larghetto for Orchestra

Bruch Violin Concertos

Debussy Preludes Book 2

Jan-Peter de GRAAFF
Cello Concertos

La Nuit étoilé
Berlioz. Holmes


Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.