One of the most grown-up review sites around

54,416 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

Founder: Len Mullenger                                    Editor in Chief:John Quinn             



Peter Ilyich TCHAIKOVSKY (1840-1893)
Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13, ‘Winter daydreams’ (1866, rev. 1874) [43’24].
The Snow-Maiden, Op. 12 (1873) [16’14] – Entr’acte; Melodrama; Entr’acte; Melodrama; Allegro vivace.
Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra of Moscow Radio/Vladimir Fedoseyev.
Rec. 1998 (venue unspecified)
RELIEF CR991045 [DDD] [59’51]

Dedicated to Nikolai Rubinstein, Tchaikovsky’s First Symphony was first performed in Moscow in February 1868. When it was composed Tchaikovsky was 26 and his youthful, if still somewhat green, fervour shines through the score. Fedoseyev ensures there is plenty of drama in the first movement (‘Daydreams of a Winter Journey’ – or, as this disc translates, ‘Dreams on a Winter Road’). The musical argument unfolds naturally; the tender second movement (‘Land of gloom, land of mist/A Gloomy Land, A Foggy Land’) is beautifully balanced orchestrally and marvellously phrased. What appears to be a rather strange balance at around 3’40 detracts somewhat, though – the wind accompaniment is too strong, taking the attention away from the lyrical melody on strings.

The third movement (Scherzo) is where this performance really takes off, though. This is very special playing - the music dances, light as air. Strings textures are all but transparent while woodwind trip around affectingly. A pity the counterpoint in the finale seems compositionally clumsy (little can rescue it) – despite this, Fedoseyev makes it work well as a whole.

The coupling on the present Relief disc is fascinating and apt (not always the case with this company). The excerpts from the incidental music to Ostrovsky’s play The Snow Maiden are most appealing. The music for Snegurochka, for such it is in transliterated Russian, was written quickly (in three weeks) for the first staging of the play at the Bolshoi Theatre, Moscow. Of course the subject was used, shortly afterwards, by Rimsky-Korsakov, as the basis for his opera of 1882 (Tchaikovsky was apparently disappointed that he had been pipped at the post here). The fairy-tale plot (a maiden of snow whose heart will melt if she feels the warmth of love …) evidently appealed to Tchaikovsky, if the interludic music on show here is anything to go by. The meltingly limpid clarinet in the first Entr’acte is particularly noteworthy (for a change as far as Relief is concerned, the soloist is not credited). While the easy flow of the first Melodrama may speak more of craftsmanship than the white-heat of inspiration, the quiet interior statement of the second Entr’acte and the half-voices of the second Melodrama contain more than enough to fascinate. The final ‘Allegro vivace’ is as jubilant as Tchaikovsky comes, especially when performed like this. The triangle-emphasised woodwind accents are judged to perfection in what is in effect a life-enhancing dance.

One of the best in the Fedoseyev/Relief series - highly recommended.


Colin Clarke



Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical
All Naxos reviews

Chandos recordings
All Chandos reviews

Hyperion recordings
All Hyperion reviews

Foghorn recordings
All Foghorn reviews

Troubadisc recordings
All Troubadisc reviews

all cpo reviews

Divine Art recordings
Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10
All Divine Art reviews

All APR reviews

Lyrita recordings
All Lyrita Reviews


Wyastone New Releases
Obtain 10% discount

Recordings of the Month

November 2022
Bach Orchestral Suites

del Cinque
Del Cinque Cello sonatas

Fujita Mozart
Mao Fujita Mozart

Stanczyk Acousmatic Music


October 2022

Berg Violin Concerto
Violin Concerto Elmes

DEbussy Jeux
Debussy Jeux

Romantic pioano masters
Romantic Piano Masters

The future is female - Vol 2
Volume 2 - The Dance

impromptu harp music
Complete Harp Impromptus


Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.