One of the most grown-up review sites around
One of the most grown-up review sites around

Search MusicWeb Here


International mailing

Up to 40% off

  Founder: Len Mullenger


London Concertante

Johannes BRAHMS (1833-1897)
String Sextet No. 2 in G, Op. 36 (1865) [37’11].
Arnold SCHÖNBERG (1874-1951)

Verklärte Nacht, Op. 4 (original sextet version, 1889) [29’39].
London Concertante.
Rec. St Edward the Confessor Church, Mottingham, on 9th-11th June 2003. DDD
CMG CMG011 [66’50]

There is much to admire in the London Concertante’s way with Brahms. The group plays with a warmth that is entirely appropriate to these two works. Unfortunately the rather swimmy acoustic means that focus can be lost (try the cello line at 5’06 in the first movement); but alas it does not necessarily mean that the players’ warmth is added to.

The Brahms is full of pluses being balanced by minuses, and in the end unfortunately the debit side wins out. The Scherzo begins dark and shady (as indeed it should) and the players listen well to each other. But the scampering figures sound decidedly anaemic and there is a loss of momentum as the argument is not elucidated with sufficient grasp of the underlying musical proceedings. The Poco Adagio fares better, entering a more intimate world and the near-stasis around the two-minute mark is impressive. Yet the music seems to drift rather than anything else – clearly players of more maturity are called for. If the finale attempts to make amends (it is by far the best movement) with its gentle, glowing inner parts and scampering violins, it cannot fully erase memories of the earlier parts of the performance. For a satisfying account (on period instruments), try Hausmusik on Signum SIGCD013 .

The Brahms Sextet is accompanied by brief booklet notes by the London Concertante’s leader, Andy Summerhayes. Verklärte Nacht is given no annotation whatsoever, save for a translation by Sonya Grist (presumably a relation of the first cellist, Chris Grist) of Richard Dehmel’s poem, ‘Verklärte Nacht’ – the original German is not provided. London Concertante give a better account of Schoenberg than they did the Brahms. Their predominantly lyrical stance leads to many oases of peace and many tender, melancholic half-lights. The group still does not appear to be fully ‘inside’ the work, however – the music fails to blossom at, say, 15’23. Tenderness is frequently evident in this account, but the fire and glow of this late-Romantic masterwork is lost. The final pages are insubstantial, the web of sound sketchy and the first violin off-puttingly shrill. The lack of repose is a shame. For a different type of experience, go back through the years to the Hollywood Quartet’s early ’fifties version, where the quartet was joined by Alvin Dinkin and Kurt Reher on Testament SBT1031 (generously coupled with the Schubert String Quintet in C, D956, to give a playing time of 73 glorious minutes).

Not really a recommendable issue, then, despite some nice moments, especially in the Brahms. Unless it is this specific coupling you require (entirely logical, given Schoenberg’s admiration for Brahms), it is best to look elsewhere.

Colin Clarke

We are currently offering in excess of 51,000 reviews

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger

Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.