52,943 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

  Founder: Len Mullenger             Editor in Chief: John Quinn               Contact Seen and Heard here  


Crotchet   AmazonUK   AmazonUS

Felix MENDELSSOHN (1809-1847)
String Quartets: Volume 1
String Quartet Op.12 in E flat major (1829) [23.38]
String Quartet Op.posth.80 in F minor (1847) [24.46]
Henschel Quartet
Rec. Studio 2, Bavarian Radio, Munich, 10-12 December 2001. DDD
ARTE NOVA 74321 96521 2 [48.54]

There are eight string quartets by Mendelssohn, of which six are complete. This disc features two of them, covering what might simplistically be termed his so-called ‘early’ and ‘late’ periods. Mendelssohn was given a hard act to follow. Those string quartets of Haydn and Mozart, who virtually set the genre in tablets of stone were followed by those of Beethoven and Schubert who between them developed it to its tautest extremes. Mendelssohn’s String Quartet Op.12, from its outset, has affinities with a couple of Beethoven’s, namely Op.74 (in the slow introduction) and the late Op.127 (thematic material during the course of the first movement). However such similarities are restricted to melody and rhythm rather than structure. A feature worth mentioning regarding form is its cyclical reference to material from the first movement in the last.

A second quartet followed immediately in numerical sequence (Op.13), then a set of three (Op.44) which could be described as the composer’s ‘middle’ period of 1837-1838, and finally Op.80 written in the last year of his life. Op. 80 has the mark of death all over it, not only Mendelssohn’s but also that of his sister Fanny to whom he was devoted. As he himself wrote, ‘At first I could not think of music without feeling a great arid emptiness in both my head and heart’. He travelled to Switzerland in an attempt to distract himself from his grief, and began to compose this string quartet. The result is a work which continues in Beethovenian vein to develop and progress away from the conventional structure of the form. Instead he explores new areas of rhythm and harmony, emphasises both syncopation and counterpoint, and spurns safe melodies for turbulent ones, reflecting his state of mind. It is in all senses of the word, a final work.

The playing of the highly acclaimed Henschel Quartet (three siblings and an interloping cello partner) is idiomatic and sensuously stylish from the outset. At times they manage to produce an orchestral sound from their four instruments, while at the same time preserving that essential intimacy and clarity so essential to chamber music playing. Highlights of these performances reside in the impeccable ensemble in the second-movement Canzonetta of the early quartet, the very opening of Op.80 with its intense Sturm und Drang, the anguish of the same work’s Adagio, and the angered resignation of its Finale. We are a far cry from the precocious youth of the Octet. Instead we find ourselves at the emotional heart of Romanticism. The way in which these players capture with natural ease the essence of Mendelssohn makes one anticipate the second volume with mouth-watering relish.

Christopher Fifield

see review of Volume 2

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger

Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.