52,943 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

  Founder: Len Mullenger             Editor in Chief: John Quinn               Contact Seen and Heard here  

The British Music Society

Buy through MusicWeb for £10.00 postage paid World-wide. Immediate delivery
You may prefer to pay by Sterling cheque to avoid PayPal charges. Contact Len.Mullenger@nospamzen.co.uk for details
(remove nospam from the address)

£10.00 Price include post/packing & air mail for International orders
Kenneth LEIGHTON (1929-1988)
Four Romantic Pieces Op. 95 (1987) [21:29]
Sonata for Four Hands Op. 92 (1984-85) [21:18]
Kenneth Leighton (Opp. 92, 95); Colin Kingsley (Op. 92)
rec. Wigmore Hall, Nov 1987, Feb 1988. AAD

This is an issue of commanding interest if you value the landscape of piano solo music created in the British Isles during the post-war period.

Leighton is no pastoralist. He is tougher combining two inimical voices - he studied with both Finzi and Petrassi. There are three symphonies (one is available on Chandos) and ten concertos including three piano concertos. The end result in the Op. 95 set is a work that picks up on the writing of Bartók, judiciously accented with dissonance and with tributaries feeding in from blues, jazz and Rachmaninov; some might even think of Kapustin from time to time. The three movement Sonata starts and ends in with the sort of insistent bell-clear writing we encounter from Martinů in his Toccata e Due Canzoni touching obsessively on the depths plumbed by Britten's Grimes Passacaglia. This is again challengingly attractive music with jazzy infusions - back to Kapustin again. In the finale I was reminded of the more insistent romantically flourishing music in Bliss's Piano Concerto.

The notes by Paul Spicer provide all the essential information.

Being able to buy this certainly justifies joining the BMS.

This is extremely impressive music. I would not want anyone to be in any doubt about this and the performances could hardly be more authoritative.

The disc insert warns that the master reel-to-reel tape had deteriorated by the time the transfer came to be made. Be reassured I could hear nothing to worry you. The sound is stable, without wow and warmly centred.

Rob Barnett

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger

Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.