Classical Editor: Rob Barnett

Music Webmaster
Len Mullenger:

Sixteenth century lute settings
Jacob Heringman - Renaissance Lute
Discipline Global Mobile DGM0006


1. Anon Praeter retum seriem
2. Anon part II: Vitus sancti Spiritus
3. Valentin Bakfark Faulte d'argent
4. Francesco Spinacino Comment peut avoir Joye
5. Vincenzo Capirola Et in terra pax
6. Vincenzo Capirola Qui tollis peccata mundi
7. Hans Gerle Scaramella
    Hans Newsidler Scaramella
8. Hans Gerle En l'ombre d'ung buysonnet
9. Alberto da Ripa Benedicta es coelorum Regina
10. Alberto da Ripa part II: Per illud ave
11. Alberto da Ripa part III: Nune Mater exora natum
12. Miguel Fuenllana Primero kyrie
13. Miguel Fuenllana Christe
14. Miguel Fuenllana Postrero kyrie
15. Luys de Narvaez Mille regretz
16. Alonso Mudarra Glosa sobre un Kyrie postrero
17. Simon Gintzler Circumdederunt me
18. Hans Newsidler Adieu mes amours
19. Simon Gintzler Pater noster
20. Simon Gintzler part II: Ave Maria



The stature of Josquin des Prez (c.1450-1521) is without question, indeed he is credited with being the mastermind behind the transition of music from of the Middle Ages into the renaissance. His output is for the most part vocal music, masses and motets, so this recording is unusual in as much as it is made up of settings of vocal music in a purely instrumental context, that being the solo lute. This process known as intabulation was undertaken by a number of 16th century lutenists and vihuelaistas (the vihuela being the Spanish equivalent of the lute) that obviously held Josquin des Prez in high regard. Surprisingly enough we are told by Jacob Heringman, in the inlay notes, that intabulation represents the largest proportion of all the known lute literature and this disc being the first to be made up entirely of intabulations.

Some of the composers who took Josquin des Prez' music as inspiration are familiar to me such as Valentin Bakfark (c.1526-1576) from Transylvania, Hans Newsidler (c. 1509-1563) from Germany and the Spaniards Miguel Fuenllana (early 16th century) and Alonso Mudarra (c. 1510-1580). Probably the best known work contained here is Luys de Narváez' (fl.1530-1550) 'La cancion del Emperador' taken from his collection 'El Delphin de Música' published in Valladolid, in 1538, this being a setting of Josquin de Prez' 'Mille regretz' said to have been a favourite song of Charles V of Spain.

Jacob Heringmans authentic sound and playing style suits this music perfectly, although it does take repeated listening to reap the rewards. For the most part though I do feel that this disc is more of a historical document for early music enthusiasts and scholars rather than a purely entertaining experience.

Praise must be given to the excellent presentation of this disc, the inlay notes are informative and the photographs of the lute by Jacob Heringman himself are a delight.


Andy Daly


Andy Daly

Reviews from previous months

You can purchase CDs, tickets and musician's accessories and Save around 22% with these retailers : - The UK's Biggest Video Store

Concert and Show tickets


Musicians accessories

Click here to visit

Return to Index