Your clickable banner could be here: details If you cannot see an advert click here.
rotating banners
Early Music

Classical Editor: Rob Barnett                               Founder Len Mullenger

La Casa del Diavolo
Christoph Willibald GLUCK

Dance of the Spectres and the Furies, Allegro non troppo (1761) [4:07]
Carl Philip Emanuel BACH (1714-1788)
Sinfonia Wq. 182/5 in B minor for strings and continuo [10:36]
Pietro Antonio LOCATELLI (1695-1764)
Concerto Grosso Op. 7/6 in E flat major Il pianto d'Arianna for violin, strings and continuo (1741) [17:35]
Wilhelm Friedemann BACH (1710-1784)
Concerto in F minor for harpsichord, strings and continuo [17:48]
Luigi BOCCHERINI (1743-1805)
Sinfonia Op. 10/4 in D minor La casa del diavolo for two oboes, two horns, strings and continuo (1771) [19:18]
Il Giardino Armonico/Giovanni Antonini
Enrico Onofri (violin)
Ottavio Dantone (harpsichord)
rec. March, August, October 2004, Pieve di Palazzo, Pignano, Cremona, Italy. DDD
NAŌVE OP 30399 [69:23]


AmazonUK   AmazonUS



Listening to this disc will certainly blow the cobwebs away. On second thoughts, the experience could more accurately be described as blasting the cobwebs away. Superbly performed interpretations breathe life and a sense of adventure into this music that ranges from late Baroque to the Classical period.

Il Giardino Armonico are one of several outstanding specialist period instrument ensembles that have come to prominence on the early music scene in the last ten or so years. They have successfully ratcheted-up the level of technical proficiency and interpretation. Undoubtedly the earlier pioneering interpretations using period-instruments were dictated by the severe limitations of their instruments. Consequently the performance style often came across as technically mechanical, lacklustre, frequently insipid and even sterile. Present-day players explore and exploit the strengths of their period instruments rather than being restricted by the weaknesses. Other notable specialist period instrument ensembles in this repertoire include: Concerto Italiano under Rinaldo Alessandrini; Venice Baroque Orchestra under Andrea Marcon with Giuliano Carmignola; Europa Galante under Fabio Biondi; Arte Dei Suonatori with Rachel Podger; The English Concert under Andrew Manze; Ensemble Explorations under Roel Dieltiens; and the Freiburger Barockorchester under Gottfried von der Goltz.

Il Giardino Armonico, founded in Milan in 1985, bring together a number of graduates from some of Europeís leading colleges of music, all of whom have specialised in playing period instruments. The ensembleís repertory is concentrated on the 17th and 18th centuries, from Biber to Boccherini, Depending on the demands of each programme, the ensemble will consist of anything from three to thirty musicians. Il Giardino Armonico first came to my attention with a stunning version of Vivaldiís The Four Seasons, a disc that gained the prestigious Diapason díOr, Choc de la Musique and Grand Prix des Discophiles, in 1994.

Here they concentrate on a programme of eighteenth century repertoire. Gluckís Dance of the Spectres and the Furies is the final piece from his opera Don Juan ou Le Festin de pierre. Baroque trumpets punctuate the work, blaring out incisively like modern-day car horns, together with those swirling strings. With C.P.E. Bachís three movement Sinfonia we see the composerís expression of feelings and emotions in what is an early characterisation of Romantic music. Bachís abrupt dynamic shifts, bold modulations and sudden switches of mood are handled expertly.

Locatelliís Concerto grosso features a remarkable series of slow movements but is in fact an instrumental cantata where the part of Arianna is taken by the solo violin in imitation of the human voice. The violin is expertly played by Enrico Onofri. The continual mood changes provide the true character of a cantata.

The three movement Concerto in F minor is attributed to W.F. Bach, although there is some doubt over the authorship. For me this is the highlight of the release. The players and soloist are most adept in this vividly dramatic work of substantial emotional power. Boccherini composed his five movement Sinfonia in D minor in 1771, in Madrid. His incomparable rhythmic convulsions are powerfully done.

For their fiercely propulsive and compellingly vital performances Il Giardino Armonico has few equals.

Michael Cookson



Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical
All Naxos reviews

All Chandos reviews

All Hyperion reviews

All Foghorn reviews

All Troubadisc reviews

Click to see New Releases
Get 10% off using code musicweb10
All Divine Art reviews

All Eloquence reviews

All Lyrita Reviews


Obtain 10% discount

Recordings of the Month


Donizetti - Le Convenienze ed Inconvenienze Teatrali

Chamber Symphonies 2 & 4

French Cello Concertos





Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.