52,943 reviews
and more.. and still writing ...

Search MusicWeb Here



International mailing

  Founder: Len Mullenger             Editor in Chief: John Quinn               Contact Seen and Heard here  


Crotchet   AmazonUK   AmazonUS

Claude DEBUSSY (1862-1918)
La Mer
Maurice RAVEL (1875-1937)

Alborada del gracioso
Daphnis et Chloë – Suite No.2
Philharmonia Choir (women’s voices)
Philharmonia Orchestra/Carlo Maria Giulini
Rec. 11-14, 19, 25-26 April 1962 (Debussy), and 4, 8-10 June 1959 (Ravel), Kingsway Hall, London


The Debussy items have appeared before. With the addition of the Ravel, this now makes even better value, and represents this great conductor at the very height of his considerable powers.

La Mer is given one of its most satisfying performances on disc. Far from indulging himself, Giulini maintains an admirably disciplined approach, paying extraordinarily loving attention to the details with which this score teems. In addition, he has such a sure sense of pacing and timing, with the result that the climaxes of all three movements are achieved with overwhelming power. It is admittedly a work that tends to bring the very best out of its performers – it will brook nothing less – but, even with that consideration, this is an account to relish and cherish.

The Nocturnes are on the same level, maybe even better. I have certainly never heard a Nuages in which the textures have such cloud-like softness and insubstantiality, and the Philharmonia’s playing for Giulini indicates why it was up there as one of the world’s very top orchestras at the time.

On the other hand, the woodwind playing was very individual, and thus not to all tastes. There will be those therefore who will find Gareth Morris’s rendering of the famous flute solo in Daphnis disappointing. Morris was a famous and distinguished player who persisted in performing on a wooden flute when all around were turning to metal. The sound has a unique and memorable quality, but none of the brilliance and richness we have come to associate with modern flute playing. Equally, many will find Sidney Sutcliffe’s intensely reedy oboe playing a problem. Personally, I find it quite wonderful, and in French music of this kind it surely comes into its own.

Carlo Maria Giulini will be ninety years old this coming May 9th. This issue is thus a timely reminder of a conductor with an exceptional ear for tonal beauty, and an unerring ability to find it within any ensemble fortunate enough to work with him.

Gwyn Parry-Jones


Current releases in Great Recordings of the Century

Advertising on

Donate and keep us afloat


New Releases

Naxos Classical

Nimbus Podcast

Obtain 10% discount

Special offer 50% off
15CDs £83 incl. postage

Musicweb sells the following labels

Altus 10% off
Atoll 10% off
CRD 10% off
Hallé 10% off
Lyrita 10% off
Nimbus 10% off
Nimbus Alliance
Prima voce 10% off
Red Priest 10% off
Retrospective 10% off
Saydisc 10% off
Sterling 10% off

Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe to our free weekly review listing

Sample: See what you will get

Editorial Board
MusicWeb International
Founding Editor
Rob Barnett
Editor in Chief
John Quinn
Seen & Heard
Editor Emeritus
   Bill Kenny
MusicWeb Webmaster
   David Barker
Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb Founder
   Len Mullenger

Return to Index

Untitled Document

Reviews from previous months
Join the mailing list and receive a hyperlinked weekly update on the discs reviewed. details
We welcome feedback on our reviews. Please use the Bulletin Board
Please paste in the first line of your comments the URL of the review to which you refer.