One of the most grown-up review sites around
One of the most grown-up review sites around

Search MusicWeb Here


International mailing

Up to 40% off

  Founder: Len Mullenger

Arnold (1921-) - Clarinet  Concerto No. 2

Somewhere in Ireland, 1974. The telephone rings. A voice says, “Malcolm? Benny Goodman here.” Malcolm Arnold shouts,  “Sod off!” and hangs up. Hardly an auspicious beginning to the story of the Second Clarinet Concerto, but understandable if you've ever been plagued by joke callers. Happy ending? Oh, yes. Having left the score in a hotel room, between a bouquet and a litre of Jack Daniels, Arnold got another call:  “Malcolm, this is Benny. I may be a bit stoned, but I think your concerto is just great!” 

Perceptive chap, that Benny Goodman. He thus joined an illustrious line-up that included Frederick Thurston, Leon Goossens, Richard Adeney, Dennis Brain, and John Wallace. In his succession of superbly inventive concertos, written mostly for friends and often out of pure friendship, Arnold is consistently considerate of the qualities of his intended players. In this one  the writing requires, according to Hugo Cole, “sharp attack, piercing urgency in upper registers, with a more neutral middle register”. Sounds like Goodman to me! Even his age (then 60) is taken into account: the soloist is not over-taxed, with frequent rests provided. 

1. Allegro vivace: The keynote is “jazz”. A busy first subject bristles with cycles of notes and vertiginous leaps (and plunges!), while an improvisatory second meanders soulfully. Formal development is curtailed, the music tailing off into a cadenza where the soloist is instructed to improvise “as jazzy as you please, based on the concerto’s themes” (so what you hear rather depends on who's playing it). Thence to an abbreviated recapitulation and a resounding finish. 

2. Lento: In spite of a classic Arnold tune of disarming wistfulness, this is no cosy interlude: the tune is progressively “deconstructed”, wistfulness gradually crumbling into a woeful pit (this might have “graced” some horror film). The only way out is up, but the path is hard. Following a unison orchestral climax, a solicitous solo flute resuscitates the care-worn tune. It strains free from a stifling atmosphere of ethereal strings and woodwind and, achingly sad, is finally consoled by orchestral warmth. 

3. Allegro non troppo: (“Pre-Goodman Rag”). After “the pits”, the party! Hair is let down in a big way for this brilliant romp. In the context, the central tune comes across rather like the “Sally Army” in a city-centre pub at ten o' clock on a Saturday night. Needless to say, it is soon engulfed by the good-natured mayhem!

© Paul Serotsky
29, Carr Street, Kamo, Whangarei 0101, Northland, New Zealand


Conditions for use apply. Details here
Copyright in these notes is retained by the author without whose prior written permission they may not be used, reproduced, or kept in any form of data storage system. Permission for use will generally be granted on application, free of charge subject to the conditions that (a) the author is duly credited, and (b) a donation is made to a charity of the author's choice.

Return to: Music on the Web